



Advancing the Art and Science of Radio-Since 1914

ADMINISTRATIVE HEADQUARTERS 225 Main Street, Newington, Connecticut, USA 06111-1494 Telephone: 860-594-0200 = FAX: 860-594-0259 www.arrl.org

May 21, 2014

Vladimir Grishchenko, UT0FT, President Ukrainian Amateur Radio League P.O. Box 56 Kiev-1 01001 Ukraine

Dear Mr. President:

A copy of a letter that you wrote to me dated May 3, 2014 has come to my attention. I apologize for the delay in responding, but your original letter has not reached me.

On behalf of the ARRL I acknowledge your statement of the official position of UARL with respect to DXCC awards credit for contacts with Crimea. To make sure there is no misunderstanding, please permit me to state the determination of the ARRL Awards Committee:

Upon request of the CEO, the ARRL Awards committee evaluated the situation at present in Crimea against the DXCC rules. As the interpreter of the rules, the following is the Awards Committee's decision on how to "count" QSOs with stations operating from Crimea.

Crimea is not a DXCC entity. Neither Russia nor Ukraine is a rare entity and the vast majority of confirmations used for DXCC credit for either entity do not involve Crimea.

DXCC Rule 4 reads:

"4. Confirmation data for two-way communications must include the call signs of both stations, the entity name as shown in the DXCC List, mode, date, time and band. Except as permitted in Rule 1, cross-mode contacts are not permitted for DXCC credits. Confirmations not containing all required information may be rejected."

A QSL with a call sign issued by the administration of Ukraine and showing the entity name as Ukraine counts as Ukraine.

A QSL with a call sign issued by the administration of Russia and showing the entity name as Russia counts as Russia.

A OSL that satisfies neither condition does not count for either entity.

We appreciate the high regard you have expressed for the DXCC program. However, the list of DXCC entities is simply for the purpose of giving radio amateurs a consistent way to compare

Kay C. Craigie, N3KN President

Jim Fenstermaker K9.IF Second Vice President ■ Jay Bellows, KØQB

Treasurer David Sumner, K1ZZ

Mary M. Hobart, K1MMH Chief Executive Officer

Barry J. Shelley, N1VXY Chief Financial Officer

Harold Kramer, WJ1B Chief Operating Officer

Brennan Price, N4QX Chief Technology Officer

Rick Roderick, K5UR First Vice President

Vice President International Affairs

Chief Development Officer Secretary

AMERICAN RADIO RELAY LEAGUE, INC .- International Secretariat of the International Amateur Radio Union

Rick Niswander, K7GM