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Sweepstakes Log-Checking Mythbusters 

Larry (Tree) Tyree, N6TR
n6tr@arrl.net
Myth 1 — If a station busts my call sign, I will get a Not-In-Log penalty.

Certainly, any effort you make to make sure a station gets your call sign right is a good thing. If the other station just insists on getting your call wrong, it is unlikely that this will end up costing you the contacts. 
Let’s say that your call sign is WB6ZVC and the station that logged you was WB6ZUC and the person who logged you wrong was K7RAT. These call signs will help make the following example easier to understand:

During the log checking process, the “cross checking” step will indeed show that K7RAT does not have WB6ZVC at the expected QSO number (or near it). The program does notice, however, that WB6ZUC shows up at the expected place and that the exchange appears to be the same as the one you were sending. Furthermore, WB6ZUC does not appear to be an active call sign in the contest. 
When this occurs, the log checking program will decide that K7RAT busted your call sign. It will flag WB6ZUC as a bad call sign, and when the K7RAT log gets checked, he will lose the QSO; however, WB6ZVC will not lose the QSO. The cross check will be judged to be a success and count the QSO in your log.

Myth 2 — If I hear a station sending A for their precedence, and then later they are sending B, will I lose the QSO?

While we can’t say with 100 percent confidence that the answer is no, the chances are you won’t lose the QSO. First off, we do ask stations not to change their exchange during the contest, but we realize that it does happen occasionally. 
One of the first steps of the log checking process is to generate a database of call signs with the exchange elements they were sending. This is not done based upon their Cabrillo log, but rather from all of the other logs we have received. Far too often we see someone indicating an incorrect sent exchange in their log and we find that using the collective wisdom documented in all of the other logs is a better indicator of what you actually sent during the contest.

During this process, if the program finds a statistical distribution that suggests an exchange was not constant during the contest, it will decide that person was “unstable” and the exchange for that station will no longer be checked during the checking process. 
It is possible that a station could have sent their exchange wrong just a few times — this would not be detected by the software. This could result in you losing a QSO where the information was sent wrong. This is part of the risk we all take when making QSOs and since only the receiving party loses the QSO, the person who actually made the sending mistake gets off without a deduction. Some contests do penalize both stations when a bust like this occurs, but most of them, including the Sweepstakes, do not.

Myth 3 — I have a QSO in my log at 0030 and 0100. This defines a 30 minute time-off break.

This is actually counted as a 29 minute break. For the purposes of on or off time calculations, a whole minute is either assumed to be on time or off time — it can’t be used for both. Therefore, in this case, minutes 0031 through 0059 are your off time minutes, a total of 29 minutes. Even though this doesn’t technically meet the minimum requirement of 30 minutes, it will still be allowed as off time; however, any additional minutes will be taken from the end of your log if you used up your 24 hours of operating time. 
Myth 4 — I will lose the QSO if the other station doesn’t send in their log.

This is not true, even if they only worked you. Unique QSOs are still counted in your log just the same as verified QSOs. There is always some chance that a unique call will be judged as a busted call sign, so it is always good to encourage logs to be submitted.

Myth 5 — I will lose a QSO if I don’t log the /M or /QRP that a station is sending.

Any call with /M, /7 or /QRP is converted to the “root” call sign for checking purposes. It simply doesn’t matter if you log this or not. The only time it is important to properly log the full call is when it will change the DXCC country. So logging W4/G4BUE is required, as G4BUE indicates a UK call sign that can’t be worked in the contest for points.

Question — I worked W1MX last year and they were sending a check of 09. This year they were sending 23. I know 09 is right. Which should I log?

The answer to this is very simple — log what you heard the station send. Again, if there is instability in their exchange during the contest, it will be detected by the log-checking process. What they sent last year really isn’t relevant. 
Myth 6 — If I send the wrong check, I be disqualified.

No. In fact, as long as you send the same check for the whole contest, it really doesn’t matter to the log checking process what that check is.

