ARRL

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

What can I learn?

Apr 26th 2013, 21:26

WB5EMX

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I am about to set up my antenna farm. For sake of this discussion we will limit it to dipoles, inverted Vs, and loop antennas.
I have a relatively basic understanding of the Smith Chart. I'm not a pro, but I have a fair amount of industrial experience. I have the following capabilities in my shack: SWR (simple: forward and reflected power), SWR built into my rig, Power Meter (old military job), McMillan GDO, and home made standard terminations.

Question 1) If I were to make standards of common impedances using non inductive resistors, and terminate a feed line with a known physical length and a known velocity factor, I should be able to determine by the SWR which impedance matches the impedance of the cable. True or false? I would first dip out the terminations and make sure I knew exactly what the impedance is of the termination.

Question 1A: I should then be able to determine the nominal impedance and velocity factor of an unknown cable of known physical length, True or False?

Question 2: I am planning on making my dipole with a type N connector at the top so I can disconnect it from the dipole, and also to prevent moisture contamination of the coax. If I substitute various known standard impendances, and plot them on the Smith Chart, hung in place 30 feet above the ground, then I compare that data with the data from the dipole, will I be expected to be able to determine the impedance of the feed point of the antenna from the SWR measurement at the rig?