Secure Site Login


Radio Club of America Announces 2016 Award Recipients and Fellows


Several radio amateurs were among the 2016 Radio Club of America (RCAaward recipients and Fellows. Winners will be honored at RCA’s 107th Banquet & Awards Presentation on November 18 in New York City. The awards spotlight outstanding achievements in the field of wireless communication. The 2016 award winners are:

Armstrong Medal: Morgan E. O’Brien for outstanding achievement and lasting contributions to the radio arts and sciences and wireless communication.

Sarnoff Citation: William T. Murphy, W0RSJ, for exceptional contributions of a technical or non-technical nature to the advancement of electronic communication.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Joseph H. Taylor, K1JT, recognizing his significant achievements and a major body of work accomplished over a lifetime that has advanced the art and science of radio and wireless technology.

Henri Busignies Memorial Award: Mischa Schwartz for achievements in the field of communication equipment and contributions to the advancement of electronics for the benefit of humanity.

Fred M. Link Award: Dan Clark, W9VV, for notable achievements in land mobile radio communication.

Barry Goldwater Amateur Radio Award: Stanley Reubenstein, WA6RNU, for unique contributions to the field of Amateur Radio.

Edgar F. Johnson Pioneer Award: John S. Oblak, in recognition of noteworthy contributions to the success of RCA or to the radio industry.

Ralph Batcher Memorial Award: Marc F. Ellis, N9EWJ, for significant work in preserving the history of radio and electronic communication.

Frank A. Gunther Award: Robert A. Rude, K0RAR, for his dedication to the field of military communication.

Vivian A. Carr Award: Mercy S. Contreras, to recognize outstanding achievements by a woman in the wireless industry.

President’s Award: John E. Dettra Jr, WB4NBF, for unselfish dedication to the work of the Radio Club of America.

Elevation to Fellow is made by nomination only to members in good standing for at least the previous 5 years and whose contributions to the art and science of radio communication, broadcasting or the Radio Club of America are deemed outstanding. The 2016 RCA Fellows are:

Robert J. Hobday, N2EVG

James H. Kreuzer, N2GHD

Robert E. LaRose, W6ACU

W. Brent Lee

Andrew C. Maxymillian

Stephanie McCall

Thomas L. Morrow

Edward F. O’Connor

Walton L. Stinson, W0CP

Sandra J. Wendelken

Founded in 1909, the Radio Club of America, a non-profit organization, is the oldest group of wireless communication professionals in the world. Its members are dedicated to the wireless art and science for the betterment of society. -- Thanks to the Radio Club of America