ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Yagi Front-to-Back Ratio

Aug 4th 2011, 13:51

N7TWL

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I am studying for my Extra Class license, and the following question (E9B06) seems to be counter intuitive: "What usually occurs if a Yagi antenna is designed solely for maximum forward gain?" The correct answer is that the front-to-back ratio decreases. I would think that the ratio increases. That is, the difference between the numerator and denominator of the ratio is getting larger. If we define the ratio to be that of signal strength transmitted in a forward direction to that transmitted in a backward direction, then surely as the forward gain increases (and presumably signal strength), the backward signal strength has to be decreasing.

Clearly, I am not understanding something in the way antenna gain works. Some insight here would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Todd
KF7QFN
Aug 4th 2011, 14:35

W1RFIAdmin

The balloon analogy is probably the best to use to explain antenna gain.

Imagine a baloon that is essentially round. This is an isotropic radiator, radiating equally in all directions, The distance across the balloon represents the "gain" of the antenna with a pattern shaped like the balloon.

Now, squeeze the balloon in the middle with your fingers in a small circcle. The ends bulge out. This forms a dipole antenna, and it has a wider dimension, so it has gain, but in two directions, at the expense of the lack of gain in other directions.