ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Help with first antenna mounting

Jan 26th 2016, 23:53

KG5GJT

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I am new to ham radios and researching what type of antenna to use for my first radio set up and what my mounting options are. I have limited room due to being in an urban neighborhood, lot size, house size, power lines and utility lines. I think I have decided on a Cushcraft R-9 or a R-8 if the R-9 is too large. One of my only mounting options would be a wall mount in a decked and walled area cut into my roof line. The bottom of the antenna mount would be at approximately 29 feet above the ground. The bottom of the antenna mount would be approximately 5 feet above where my two Trane A/C units are mounted to the deck. The Antenna would be about 4 feet horizontally from the edge of one of the A/C units, but 5 feet above that vertically. If mounted where I am planning the first set of radials would end up approximately 6 to 7 feet vertical feet above the top of the A/C unit and 4 to 6 inches above where my roof shingles are. The first set of radials are 49 inches in length are located at the matching network of the antenna.
I have two specific questions about this mounting option.
Would mounting the antenna near the two A/C units cause an RFI problem or cause a problem with the operation of the antenna?
Is there a problem with the first set of radials being located 4 to 6 inches above roof shingles?
I don't want to mount the antenna where it will defiantly cause a problem or not work well. Any input or advise would be greatly appreciated.
Jan 27th 2016, 02:39

W1VT

Super Moderator