ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Antenna for a Yaesu FT991a Transceiver

Sep 24th 2020, 13:10

KJ7PVJ

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I am a new Ham operator. I passed my Tech License test a month ago and have been using my HT on VHF using local repeaters. I have been enjoying it so much I have decided to work on my General and build a ham shack. What a learning experience this has been and I have NO friends that are Hams (although I joined a local club, Voice of Idaho.) I have just received a big pile of equipment including a ZeroFive 30’ Flagpole (HOA restrictions in my neighborhood) antenna and a Yeasu Ft991A transceiver (along with power supply, tuner, radial wire, coax, and related stuff.) I will be putting my Flagpole up this weekend and starting to put everything together.

MY QUESTION: I need an antenna for 6m, VHF, and UHF as my needs for the other bands will be covered by the ZeroFive Flagpole. I have spent a lot of time on DX Engineering looking at antennas that will cover these bands but no easy solution is obvious to me. I assume the the 6m, VHF, and UHF will be covered through the second antenna port on the radio (CORRECT.)? I assume that when using these bands I can cover it with a three band antenna like a V2000A. This antenna requires a Triplexer MX2000. I don’t understand how this Triplexer would be hooked up to the FT991A, assuming I use the VHF/UHF antenna port (Correct?) If the multiplexer was not a required item I would have assumed that I could use the VHF/UHF antenna port. I could just get a UHF/VHF antenna and forgo the 6m but I prefer to not limit exploring this band, although this would be a more straight forward approach.