ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

How to start out

Dec 12th 2020, 14:38

mikemyers

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I'm new to all this. I bought the book I need to read and learn, so I can pass the test to get a license. Hope to do that in the next two weeks.

I'm receiving the magazine - but saying I'm "lost" is an understatement. Is there a post here that describes in simple terms what I will need to buy to get involved in ham radio?

Back in the 1970's, I visited the local radio shop, with walls and shelves full of mysterious gear that presumably would allow me to talk to others via ham radio. I didn't know enough to even start to ask what's what.

Photography and cameras I know and understand. Here, I don't even know how to select a basic radio to start with. I know I can't broadcast until I get a license, but I thought I could start out by listening.

Anyway, that's how ignorant I am, as in totally. Maybe there is a post or write-up here the will start to explains that a newcomer can read and understand.

(I think there is a ham radio group in Ft. Laderdale, with wold be a great place to visit, once it's safe to travel. I live in Miami, so it would be a short trip.

Hopefully I'm posting in the right place - no idea what "contesting" means, and also hopefully I will be notified of replies to these questions.
Dec 12th 2020, 20:35

W1VT

Super Moderator

http://www.arrl.org/getting-licensed

http://www.arrl.org/find-a-club

It may help to describe what you would like to do.
A wedding photographer often needs different equipment than someone taking pictures of jewelry or the stars at night.

It may also help to describe what you can do for antenna supports. It can be difficult for someone in an apartment or HOA to talk around the world, even though they can buy expensive gear and pass all the amateur exams.