ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

What to look for in a radio?

Apr 28th 2012, 17:46

KF5SQL

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I am a new licensed technician and we do not have a local store here in the area to go look ask questions or get a feel for the radio you have your eyes set on. The Internet has taken that away.

Ok my rant is done, back to the question.... I live in an apartment and we aren't even allowed a satellite dish without a $1,000,000 renters insurance policy, so I think they will object to an antenna for amateur radio being hoisted up. So I was thinking of maybe a mobile transceiver with a power supply for home use or even a Dual Band HT. So The question remains.... What do I look for in a mobile unit or a dual band HT?

Apr 28th 2012, 19:37

KB0HAE

The Internet gives you access to a lot of information that you would otherwise never see. You can download manuals, look at reviews and pictures, even find out if the radio(s) you are looking at has known problems or issues.

No one could recommend a radio or type of radio without knowing a lot about your situation. Probably the best source of recommendations would be local hams, possibly a local club.
Apr 29th 2012, 04:29

KF5SQL

KB0HAE, Thank you for the insight. I think I will be going to a meeting soon. I think the best way to explain my situation is to take pictures and show them to club members.
I don't think the radio is as big of the deal as the antenna in an apartment. Would a dipole work for 2 meters and 70 cm?

Apr 30th 2012, 18:02

W1VT

Super Moderator