ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Antenna Support

Jul 7th 2012, 21:33

KD6MZC

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I am interested in information on the mechanical design of antennas and their support. Of specific interest is the basis for calculating wind loads and deflection criteria.

In my professional life I am a Structural Engineer so I would appreciate all information from the basic to detailed technical.

Given that aluminum is used a lot I would also be interested in what grades of aluminum are typically used in antenna structures.

Mark
KD6MZC
Jul 8th 2012, 01:00

W1VT

Super Moderator

Hi Mark,

The Electronic Industries Association publishes EIA-222F
Structural Standards for Steel Antenna Towers and Antenna Supporting Structure

David Leeson W6QHS published an excellent book, Physical Design of Yagi Antennas, but it is now out of print and relatively expensive on the used market.

Array Solutions has a useful page on wind load
http://www.arraysolutions.com/Products/windloads.htm

Yagi Antennas are typically built using 6061-T6 or 6063-T832 aluminum tubing.

Zack Lau W1GT
ARRL Senior Lab Engineer
Jul 8th 2012, 05:13

KD6MZC

Zack

Useful references. There is much to learn.

Some of the references are dated in that the building code provisions have recently changed and the way wind loads are calculated are different. The final result may not be much different in most cases still one wants to comply with the current provisions.

The EIA/TIA 222-G standard is expensive.

Lack of discussion regarding need to get building department approvals, where they enforce the building code.

Some of the information I found reflects engineering knowledge while other information suggest that the author is passing along "conventional wisdom" some of which is wrong or simplistic.

Mark
KD6MZC
Jul 8th 2012, 20:15

W1VT