Register Account

Login Help


2009 Winter Section Manager Election Results


ARRL members in the North Texas Section have elected a new Section Manager. Jay Urish, W5GM, of Flower Mound, received 740 votes; his opponent, incumbent Section Manager Tom Blackwell, N5GAR, of Dallas, received 678 votes. Blackwell has served as Section Manager since 2005. In Arizona, members re-elected incumbent Tom Fagan, K7DF, of Tucson. Fagan, who has been Section Manager since 2005, received 1016 votes; Robert Spencer, KE8DM, of Yuma, received 205 votes. Ballots were counted and verified at ARRL Headquarters on Tuesday, February 24.

Iowa will have a new Section Manager starting in April. Tom Brehmer, N0LOH, of Muscatine, was the only candidate to run for office when veteran Section Manager Jim Lasley, N0JL, of Chillicothe, decided not to run for another term. Lasley has been the Iowa Section Manager since 1994. Brehmer is presently the ARRL Official Observer Coordinator in Iowa and a Volunteer Examiner. He is serving as the Secretary/Treasurer of the Muscatine Amateur Radio Club.

In Wyoming, Garth Crowe, N7XKT, continues as Section Manager for the April 2009-March 2011 term of office. Crowe was appointed in January to take the reins from LeeAnne Sachau, WY7DTW, who decided to step down after she was the only nominee for the next term of office.

The following incumbent ARRL Section Managers did not face opposition and were declared elected for their upcoming terms of office beginning April 1: J.M. Rowe, N5XFW, Arkansas; Jim Brooks, KY4Z, Kentucky; Malcolm Keown, W5XX, Mississippi; Doug Dunn, K7YD, Montana, and Carl Gardenias, WU6D, Orange.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn