Register Account

Login Help


ARRL Board Bestows Awards at 2010 Annual Meeting


The ARRL Board of Directors had the pleasure and distinction of bestowing two annual awards at its 2010 Annual Meeting -- the inaugural George Hart Distinguished Service Award and the Bill Leonard, W2SKE, Professional Media Award.

The George Hart Distinguished Service Award

Named for longtime ARRL Communications Manager George Hart, W1NJM, this award was established by the Board at its 2009 Second Meeting. Hart was also the chief developer of the National Traffic System (NTS). It is conferred upon an ARRL member whose service to the League's Field Organization is of the most exemplary nature. Selection criteria include the nominee's operating record with the National Traffic System, participation within the Amateur Radio Emergency Service® (ARES®), or station appointments and/or leadership positions held within the ARRL Field Organization.

This year, three radio amateurs were honored by the Board with the George Hart Distinguished Service Award: 

  • George W. "Bud" Hippisley, W2RU, was first licensed in 1954 as KN2KIR and has been active in the NTS since 1955, serving as Eastern Area Net Manager since 1964 -- including a stint as Chairman of the NTS Eastern Area Staff from 1976-1983. He has also been active in ARES® and RACES since 1955. Hippisley has received numerous awards from the ARRL, citing his commitment to providing emergency communications and for his longtime support as the Eastern Area Net Manager and net control station. His leadership positions with the ARRL Field Organization include service as the Western New York Communications Manager (1974-1975), Western New York Section Emergency Coordinator (1997-1999) and Atlantic Division Vice Director (1982-1985). He has also served as Official Relay Station (ORS), Official Bulletin Station (OBS), Official Observer (OO), Route Manager (RM) and Official Traffic Station (OTS).
  • William "Bill" M. Smith, W7GHT, was first licensed in 1937. That year, he started handling traffic on the Idaho GEM Net and has been an active NTS operator since the organization's beginnings back in 1949. In addition, Smith helped to organize the Idaho-Montana CW Traffic Net, of which he currently serves as Manager. He published the IMN newsletter at his own personal expense; the newsletter is now available in an online version. He is the longtime manager of the Seventh Region Net (RN7) and a member of the Pacific Area NTS staff -- participating as net control station for both groups -- as well as a member of the Transcontinental Corps. Smith has also served as the Idaho Section Traffic Manager (STM).
  • David Struebel, WB2FTX, founded NJVN/E -- a local VHF net -- in 1986, serving as Net Manager from 1986-1992. In 1988, he received the W2SWE New Jersey Traffic Handler of the Year Award. Struebel currently serves as the NTS Eastern Area Digital Coordinator and as the NTS Digital Second Region, Eastern Area Net Transcontinental Corps Mailbox Operator. He has elmered eight NTS member stations on digital NTS operations. In 2009, he received the Hudson Division Technical Achievement Award. ARRL field appointments include Erie County (New York) Emergency Coordinator (EC) and Western New York Section Emergency Coordinator (SEC). Struebel is currently the Northern New Jersey Section Traffic Manager (STM). 

The 2009 Bill Leonard, W2SKE, Professional Media Award

The Bill Leonard, W2SKE, Professional Media Award is a national level award given each year to honor three professional journalists whose outstanding coverage best reflect the enjoyment, importance and public service value the Amateur Radio Service. This award -- created as a tribute to the late CBS News President Bill Leonard, W2SKE, an avid Amateur Radio operator -- is divided into three categories, each with its own award: audio, visual and print. 

  • Audio: Ted Randall, WB8PUM, hosts a weekly show on shortwave radio -- The QSO Radio Show. The Board recognized that Randall's show has become even more effective as a podcast of "consistently high quality, treating issues within Amateur Radio week after week." Randall was the recipient of this award in 2008, as well.
  • Video: Kim Byrnes, a reporter for WDAF, a television station in Kansas City, covered the Raytown Amateur Radio Club's 2009 Field Day operation for her station's Sunday morning news magazine. She covered diverse aspects of Amateur Radio, specifically highlighting ham radio as a hobby, as an emergency communications source, as radiosport and contesting and chronicling the evolution of two-way radio technology with what the Board called "a fascinating video report."
  • Print: Vicky Taylor, a reporter for Public Opinion, the local daily newspaper in Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, covering the licensing of 8 year old Victoria Latham, KB3SSM, and her 7 year old sister Veronica, KB3SSN, as a heartwarming story of how these two young ladies convinced their dad Shannon, W3SML, and mom Rachel, KB3RNP, that they were ready to get their ham ticket. 

ARRL Board Recognizes Outgoing ARRL President Joel Harrison, W5ZN

After more than 27 years of elected volunteer service to the ARRL, outgoing ARRL President Joel Harrison, W5ZN, has retired. In recognition of his dedication to the League over nearly three decades, the ARRL Board of Directors bestowed their thanks in the form of an engraved plaque. Presented by incoming President Kay Craigie, N3KN, on behalf of the Board, the plaque recounts Harrison's elected service to the ARRL: Arkansas Section Manager, 1983-1988; Delta Division Director, 1988-1996; Vice President, 1996-2000; First Vice President, 2000-2006, and President, 2006-2010.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn