Register Account

Login Help


ARRL Director and Vice Director Elections Set for November


Responding to solicitations in the July and August issues of QST, ARRL members in the Atlantic, Dakota, Delta, Great Lakes and Midwest Divisions have nominated 14 candidates for the ten positions of Director and Vice Director of each of the five divisions. Seven incumbents have been re-elected without opposition, while there will be balloting for Director and Vice Director of the Delta Division and for Vice Director of the Great Lakes Division. Those elected will serve three-year terms beginning at noon on January 1, 2009.

The ARRL Ethics and Elections Committee has reviewed and confirmed the eligibility of all 14 candidates and has declared the following re-elected: Atlantic Division Director Bill Edgar, N3LLR, and Vice Director Tom Abernethy, W3TOM; Dakota Division Director Jay Bellows, K0QB, and Vice Director Greg Widin, K0GW; Midwest Division Director Bruce Frahm, K0BJ, and Vice Director Cliff Ahrens, K0CA; and Great Lakes Division Director Jim Weaver, K8JE. The rules state that if a candidate is running unopposed, he or she shall be declared the winner without balloting. Members in the Great Lakes Division will elect a Vice Director, while Delta Division members will elect a new Director and new Vice Director.

Delta Division Director Henry Leggette, WD4Q, decided not to seek another term. Nominated to succeed him are current Vice Director Karl Bullock, WA5TMC, and former Louisiana Section Manager Mickey Cox, K5MC. Seeking the post of Vice Director are Ariel Elam, K4AAL, of Tennessee, and Arkansas Section Manager David Norris, K5UZ.

In the Great Lakes Division, incumbent Vice Director Gary Johnston, KI4LA, is being challenged by former Kentucky Section Manager John Meyers, NB4K, and Michigan Section Affiliated Club Coordinator Daniel Romanchik, KB6NU.

The policies of the League are established by 15 Directors who are elected to the Board on a geographical basis to represent their divisions and constituents. These 15 Directors serve three year terms, with five standing for election each year. Vice Directors, who succeed the Director in the event of a mid-term vacancy and serve as Director at any Board meeting the Director is unable to attend, are elected at the same time.

Full members of the ARRL in the Delta and Great Lakes Divisions will be mailed ballots in late September. To receive a ballot you must be a member as of September 10. To be counted, ballots must be returned so as to be received at ARRL HQ no later than noon Eastern Standard Time on Friday, November 21. The count will be conducted on that date under the supervision of three tellers and a certified public accountant.

Absentee ballots are available to those ARRL full members licensed by the FCC but temporarily residing outside of the US. Members overseas who arrange to be listed as full members in an appropriate Division prior to September 10, 2008, will be able to vote this year where elections are being held. Even within the US, full members temporarily living outside the ARRL Division they consider home may have voting privileges by notifying the ARRL Secretary prior to September 10, 2008, giving their current QST address and the reason another Division is considered home.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn