Register Account

Login Help


Changing of the Guard: Rick Roderick, K5UR, Elected as ARRL’s 16th President


[UPDATED 18 January 1620 UTC] The ARRL Board of Directors has elected ARRL First Vice President Rick Roderick, K5UR, of Little Rock, Arkansas, as the ARRL’s next president. The Board took the action as it convened for its 2016 Annual Meeting January 15-16 in Windsor, Connecticut. Roderick, 63, officially assumed office for a 2 year term at the conclusion of the Annual Meeting. He is the ARRL’s 16th president, succeeding Kay Craigie, N3KN, of Blacksburg, Virginia, who served for three terms as the League’s president.

The Board also chose other officers, electing Dakota Division Director Greg Widin, K0GW, of Stillwater, Minnesota, as First Vice President, succeeding Roderick, and Rocky Mountain Division Director Brian Mileshosky, N5ZGT, of Albuquerque, New Mexico, as Vice President, succeeding Jim Fenstermaker, K9JF. Roderick, Widin, and Mileshosky all are ARRL Life Members. Fenstermaker was later named by the Board as an ARRL Honorary Vice President.

As a result of the Vice President election, Rocky Mountain Division Vice Director Dwayne Allen, WY7FD, of Sundance, Wyoming, will become the new Division Director, succeeding Mileshosky, while Kent Olson, KA0LDG, of Horace, North Dakota, will become the new Dakota Division Director. President Roderick will fill the Vice Director vacancies in due course.

In other action, the Board re-elected International Affairs Vice President Jay Bellows, K0QB; Chief Financial Officer Barry Shelley, N1VXY, and ARRL Chief Technology Officer Brennan Price, N4QX.

The Board also elected one new member to the Executive Committee, which can act on the behalf of the Board between its two yearly meetings in January and July. Delta Division David Norris, K5UZ, will replace New England Division Director Tom Frenaye, K1KI, on the panel.

The other Board members are Hudson Division Director Mike Lisenco, N2YBB; West Gulf Division Director Dr David Woolweaver, K5RAV; Pacific Division Director Bob Vallio, W6RGG, and Great Lakes Division Director Dale Williams, WA8EFK.

ARRL Chief Operating Officer Harold Kramer, WJ1B, also was attending his final meeting in an official capacity. Kramer retires on March 1 after about 10 years at ARRL Headquarters.

Still to come: This week, the Board is expected to choose a successor to ARRL Chief Executive Officer David Sumner, K1ZZ, who is retiring this spring after 44 years on the ARRL Headquarters staff.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn