Register Account

Login Help


CQ Announces 2008 Hall of Fame Inductees


CQ magazine today announced its 2008 Hall of Fame inductees, welcoming 14 new members into the CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame, three new members of the CQ DX Hall of Fame and two new members of the CQ Contest Hall of Fame. The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame honors those individuals, whether licensed hams or not, who have made significant contributions to amateur radio; and those amateurs who have made significant contributions either to amateur radio, to their professional careers or to some other aspect of life on our planet. The CQ Contest and DX Halls of Fame honor those amateurs who not only excel in personal performance in these major areas of amateur radio but who also "give back" to Amateur Radio in outstanding ways.

The 2008 inductees to the CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame (listed alphabetically) are:

  • Gaston Bertels, ON4WF -- Honorary President, former President and CEO, UBA (Belgian IARU Member-Society); Founder & President, AMSAT Belgium; Chairman, ARISS Europe.

  • L. B. Cebik, W4RNL (SK) -- Noted antenna authority, prolific author on topics relating to antennas and antenna modeling. One of Cebik's last articles for QST, "A New Spin on the Big Wheel," appeared in the March 2008 issue. The article, co-written with Bob Cerreto, WA1FXT, looked at a three dipole array for 2 meters. This was a follow-up to their article in the January/February issue of QEX that featured omnidirectional horizontally polarized antennas. Cebik authored the "Antenna Options" column for QEX. Cebik, an ARRL Life Member, passed away last month at age 68.

  • Gordon England, ex-W3AWO -- Deputy Secretary of Defense; former Secretary of the Navy; former defense industry executive.

  • Admiral Edmund Giambastiani, N4OC -- Retired Vice Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff.

  • Gerald Griffin, MD, K6MD -- Brigadier General, Medical Corps, US Army (Retired). Led medical brigades and humanitarian missions in various combat zones; delegate to NATO medical advisory committee

  • Larnelle Harris, WD4LZC -- Multi-award-winning gospel singer/songwriter.

  • Lenore Jensen, W6NAZ (SK) -- Co-Founder, Young Ladies' Radio League (YLRL). Jensen wrote articles for QST, such as "Ask Not What Amateur Radio Can Do for You" (September 1978) and "California Hams Assist During Mud/Flood Crisis" (June 1980). During the 1930s, she acted in the radio drama Ma Perkins and later starred with McDonald Carey in the Lock Up TV series. Jenson was featured on This Is Your Life for her important contributions during World War II. After Pearl Harbor, she founded radio training courses for the American Women's Voluntary Service (AWVS), specializing in phone patches between servicemen overseas and their families, running more than 50,000 phone patches during the Vietnam War. Jensen's stepdaughter, Cynthia Wall, KA7ITT, wrote several ham radio-related adventure books for young people that were published by the ARRL.

  • John Kanzius, K3TUP -- Inventor of possible cure for cancer using RF energy; process for possible use of seawater as fuel. Kanzius's work was featured in the February 2008 issue of QST.

  • Charles (Chip) Margelli, K7JA -- DXer and DXpeditioner; in 2005, successfully represented hams in Morse code vs text-messaging competition on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno. He has written several articles for QST since 1973, including "Field Day 2003 from Cuba" in the December 2003 issue. In his capacity as Vice President for Amateur Sales and Marketing for Heil Sound, Margelli arranged the donation of equipment to The Laird Campbell Memorial HQ Operators Club station, W1HQ.

  • Philip S. Rand, W1DBM (SK) -- TVI pioneer; author, Television Interference. Rand was an electronics engineer for the Remington-Rand Corporation in the late 1940s, when Amateur Radio faced a crisis in the form of interference to the early VHF television sets. Rand worked with the ARRL to develop TVI suppression techniques for channels two through six. ARRL's then-Technical Editor George Grammer, W1DF, designed high pass filters for the primitive TV sets, while Rand developed new methods of shielding for amateur transmitters. Rand published articles in QST Magazine spanning 50 years, from "A Shack on Wheels" in 1933 to "The Beeper, An Audible Frequency Readout for The Blind Amateur" in September 1983. Rand served as ARRL New England Division Director in 1955 and 1956.

  • Vice Admiral Scott Redd (Retired), K0DQ/A92Q -- Former Director, National Counterterrorism Center; Retired Commander, US Fifth Fleet; active contester and DXer.

  • Tony Tether, PhD, K2TGE -- Director, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)

  • Dr Hamadoun I. Touré, HB9EHT -- Secretary-General, International Telecommunication Union (ITU). Dr Touré received his Amateur Radio license in October 2007. An interview with Dr Touré appears in the May 2008 issue of QST.

  • John Townsend, PhD, W3PRB -- Space program pioneer, aerospace industry executive.

The 2008 inductees to the CQ DX Hall of Fame are:

  • John Devoldere, ON4UN, who more or less single-handedly popularized DXing on 80 meters. His book, Low Band DXing, the last several editions of which have been published by the ARRL, is considered the "bible" for DXing on these bands, with more than 50,000 copies sold. In 1979, Devoldere was the first ham to earn CQ's 5-Band Worked All Zones (5BWAZ) award; he holds 80 meter DXCC Certificate #1 and currently has 357 countries confirmed on that band.

  • Nellie Saltiel de Lazard, XE1CI, a pediatrician and DXer/DXpeditioner, has earned just about every major DXing award. She has operated from more than a dozen different countries, including being the first female to operate from Palestine (E4).

  • Bob Schenck, N2OO, has made his greatest contribution to DXing behind the scenes as QSL manager for more than 100 DX stations as well as more than 130 DXpeditions. Schenck is founder of the QSL Manager's Society.

The 2008 inductees to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame are:

  • Paolo Cortese, I2UIY, has too many Top 10 finishes to list. Off the air, he served for more than a decade as the HF Contest Manager for Associazione Radioamatori Italiani, Italy's national Amateur Radio association and IARU Member-Society. Cortese wrote a book on contesting and has been a member of the CQWW Contest Committee since 1990, co-director of the CQ WW RTTY DX Contest and CQ WPX RTTY Contest since 2005. He has also written articles for QST and NCJ.

  • Randy Thompson, K5ZD, has multiple wins in the CQ World Wide DX Contest, ARRL Sweepstakes, CQ WPX (CW and SSB), CQ 160 and the IARU HF Championship. His station has also hosted many #1 performances by guest operators. Thompson is three-time editor of the National Contest Journal (NCJ) and co-founder of the Web site. He has just been named Director of the CQ WPX Contests. Thompson is a member of the Yankee Clipper Contest Club (YCCC).



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn