Register Account

Login Help


CQ Announces 2011 Hall of Fame Inductees


CQ magazine announced its 2011 Hall of Fame inductees on May 20, welcoming 12 new members into the CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame, one new member of the CQ DX Hall of Fame and one new member of the CQ Contest Hall of Fame.

The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame honors those individuals, whether licensed hams or not, who have made significant contributions to Amateur Radio, as well as those amateurs who have made significant contributions either to Amateur Radio, to their professional careers or to some other aspect of life on our planet. The CQ Contest and DX Halls of Fame honor those amateurs who not only excel in personal performance in these major areas of Amateur Radio but who also “give back” to Amateur Radio in outstanding ways.

The 2011 inductees (listed alphabetically) are:

Dave Bell, W6AQ -- Hollywood TV and film producer, who, over the course of several decades, has been deeply involved in producing multiple Amateur Radio promotional videos. Bell co-produced the videos, The ARRL Goes to Washington and Amateur Radio Today, both voiced by veteran newsman Walter Cronkite, KB2GSD.

Nate Brightman, K6OSC -- The “spark” behind W6RO, the ham station aboard the Queen Mary in Long Beach, California. Brightman also narrated the video The Story of the Queen Mary and W6RO. At its July 2009 meeting, the ARRL Board of Directors voted to bestow the 2009 Philip J. McGan Memorial Silver Antenna Award on Brightman for excellence in public relations.

Loretta Ensor, W9UA (SK) -- On-air instructor in Morse code and radio fundamentals between 1929 and 1941, who, with her brother, was responsible for helping to get at least 900 new amateurs licensed.

Bob Gunderson, W2JIO (SK) -- Blind ham who was Editor and Publisher of The Braille Technical Press and the “answer man” at Hudson Radio on New York’s Radio Row, where he worked three days a week as a technical advisor and consultant for the customers.

Cardinal Roger Mahony, W6QYI -- Archbishop Emeritus of Los Angeles and advocate for immigration reform.

Sylvia Margolis (SK) -- Prolific CQ humor writer in the 1960s and early ’70s, she was the first public relations officer for Radio Society of Great Britain (RSGB).

Ted McElroy (SK) -- World champion radiotelegrapher and key manufacturer.

Ron Moorefield, W8ILC -- One of the guiding lights of the Dayton Hamvention® for more than 30 years, he was also the national ham radio coordinator for the cross-country 1984 Olympic Torch Relay.

Malcolm Raff, WA2UNP (SK) -- Astrophysicist, aerospace engineer and biotechnologist, he developed some of the earliest DNA sequencing techniques and contributed software to the human genome project.

Robert Schmieder, KK6EK -- Noted DXer and DXpeditioner, physicist and ecologist.

E. King Stodola, W2AXO (SK) -- The “father” of EME (Earth-Moon-Earth) communications.

Allen Taflove, WA9JLV -- Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Northwestern University and a leading authority in the field of computational electrodynamics.

CQ Contest Hall of Fame

The 2011 inductee to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame is John Sluymer, VE3EJ. Sluymer has been an active contester and DXer since 1973 and is a founding member and current President of Contest Club Ontario, which has grown from 16 to 250 members in less than a decade. He also holds numerous Canadian domestic and DX contest records, was named the 2006 Radio Amateur of the Year by the Radio Amateurs of Canada (RAC). A frequent host for single- and multi-op contest operations from his station, Sluymer is a longtime member of the CQ WW Contest Committee and a frequent speaker at hamfest forums and club meetings.

CQ DX Hall of Fame

The 2011 inductee to the CQ DX Hall of Fame is Michael J. McGirr, K9AJ. McGirr is a leading DXpeditioner who has operated literally from the ends of the Earth for almost 30 years. His many radio journeys have ranged from an Arctic expedition to Nunavut to Heard Island off the coast of Antarctica, as well as a variety of places in between, including islands in the Indian Ocean, Caribbean and South Pacific. McGirr is also a director of the Island Radio Expedition Foundation (IREF) and the 2010 recipient of the W9DXCC Award of Excellence in DXing.

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the CQ Contest Hall of Fame and the 10th anniversary of the CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame. The CQ DX Hall of Fame celebrates its 44th year in honoring the world’s top DXers. Formal inductions to the CQ Contest and DX Halls of Fame are scheduled to take place during the 2011 Dayton Hamvention®.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn