Register Account

Login Help


FCC Adds New Country to CEPT Reciprocal Agreement for Amateurs


On Monday, February 7, the FCC released a Public Notice (DA 11-221), adding a new country to the CEPT reciprocal operating arrangements for US citizens who hold an FCC-issued General, Advanced or Amateur Extra class Amateur Radio licenses. US hams may now operate in Montenegro, as well as the other countries covered by the European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT), subject to the regulations in force in the country visited, to operate in those countries.

US amateurs with a General class license will be granted CEPT Novice Radio Amateur License privileges, in accordance with ECC Recommendation (05)06 (as amended). US amateurs holding an Advanced or Amateur Extra class license will be granted CEPT Radio Amateur License privileges in accordance with CEPT Recommendation T/R 61-01 (as amended). US hams who will be traveling to CEPT countries can now go to these links and see if any new countries have been added to the reciprocal agreements.

While operating an amateur station in a CEPT country, the US amateur must have a copy of the Public Notice, proof of US citizenship and evidence of their FCC license in their possession. They must show these documents to proper authorities upon request.

CEPT countries participating in ECC Recommendation (05)06 as of February 7, 2011 are: Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark (including Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia and Switzerland.

CEPT countries participating in CEPT Recommendation T/R 61-01 as of February 7, 2011 are: Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark (including Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Estonia, Finland, France (including Corsica, Guadeloupe, French Guyana, Martinique, St Bartholomew, St Pierre and Miquelon, St Martin, Reunion and its Dependencies, Mayotte, French Antarctica, French Polynesia and Clipperton, New Caledonia, and Wallis and Futuna), Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom (including Northern Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man).



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn