Register Account

Login Help


Four New Section Managers to Start in the New Year


ARRL members in the Western Pennsylvania Section have elected elite contester Tim Duffy, K3LR, as their new Section Manager. In a three-way race, Duffy polled 545 votes, Cynthia L. Rushton, WB3CNJ, received 83 votes, and Paul Plants,W3PLP, 62 votes. Ballots were counted Tuesday, November 18, at ARRL Headquarters. Western Pennsylvania Section Manager John Rodgers, N3MSE, of Butler decided to not run for another term after serving since October 2007. He also was Section Manager from 2000 to 2003. 

Duffy, who lives in West Middlesex, Pennsylvania, has been an ARRL member and radio amateur for 42 years. He has served for 4 years as the Atlantic Division representative to the ARRL Contest Advisory Committee. Duffy has been an active member of ARES and RACES and has many years of net and traffic-handling experience.

Three other ARRL Sections also will begin the New Year with new Section Managers.

In Eastern Massachusetts, Tom Walsh, K1TW, of Bedford, will take the helm of that ARRL Section on January 1. Walsh has been an Assistant Section Manager and was the only candidate for the Section Manager’s job.

Current SM Phil Temples, K9HI, who has served as Eastern Massachusetts SM since 2011, decided not to run for a new term of office. Temples also served as Section Manager from 1994 to 1996 and from 2001 to 2004.

Taking over the top leadership role in the Southern New Jersey Section on January 1 will be Thomas J. “Skip” Arey, N2EI, of Beverly. He was the only nominee for the position. Arey has been the Affiliated Club Coordinator in Southern New Jersey. Incumbent SM George Strayline, W2GSS, opted not to run for another term after serving since 2009.

In the West Central Florida Section, Darrell Davis, KT4WX, of Fort Meade, will be the new SM starting in the New Year. He was the only candidate for the position. Davis brings to the office his experience as an Assistant Section Manager, Emergency Coordinator, and Technical Specialist. He will succeed Dee Turner, N4GD, of Pinellas Park, who chose not to run for another term after serving since 2005.

The following incumbent Section Managers faced no opposition in the fall election cycle, and they will continue with new terms of office starting January 1, 2015: Dale Bagley, K0KY (Missouri); Matt Anderson, KA0BOJ (Nebraska); Jim Mezey, W2KFV (New York City-Long Island); Tom Dick, KF2GC (Northern New York), and Marc Tarplee, N4UFP (South Carolina).

Two-year terms for all successful candidates will begin on January 1, 2015.




Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn