Register Account

Login Help


Four New Section Managers to Take Office this Summer


New Section Managers will take over this summer in four ARRL sections — Alabama, Indiana, Oregon, and Wisconsin. In Alabama, JVann Martin, W4JVM, of Chelsea, received 550 votes to 211 for his opponent, Dennis Littleton, K4DL, of West Blocton. That was the only contested race in the spring election cycle. Ballots were counted on Tuesday, May 24, at ARRL Headquarters. Outgoing Alabama SM David Drummond, W4MD, decided not to run for another term after serving at the helm of the Alabama Field Organization since January 2011.

Martin is currently ARRL Emergency Coordinator for Jefferson County. He’s been licensed for more than 20 years. Martin serves as the Director of Emergency Management and Facilities at UAB Hospital. He is a founding member and President of the Healthcare Community Amateur Radio Club. Martin will begin an 18-month term of office on July 1, rather than the nominal 2 years, because no candidates were nominated by the September 4, 2015, deadline, and nominations were resolicited.

In Indiana, Brent Walls, N9BA, of Indianapolis, will take over as the new SM on July 1. He has been the Assistant SM under incumbent SM Joseph Lawrence, K9RFZ, of Fort Wayne, who decided not to run for a new term. He has served as SM since July 2014. 

In Oregon, John Core, KX7YT, of Portland, will take over the section reins from Everett Curry, W6ABM, of Hillsboro, on July 1. Curry, who has served as Oregon’s SM since January 2014, decided not to run for another term. Core is currently a District Emergency Coordinator and Assistant Section Emergency Coordinator in Oregon.

In Wisconsin, Patrick Moretti, KA1RB, of Dousman, will become the new Section Manager on July 1. He was the sole nominee for the post being vacated by Gary Sorensen, W9ULK, of Oxford, who has been SM since July 2013. Moretti has been serving as the Wisconsin Official Observer Coordinator, an Official Observer, and a Technical Specialist.

Six incumbent Section Managers face no opposition in this election cycle and have been elected for new terms starting on July 1: Ray Hollenbeck, KL1IL (Alaska); Tom Ciciora, KA9QPN (Illinois); Bill Crowley, K1NIT (Maine); Steve Szabo, WB4OMM (Northern Florida); Brandon Bianchi, NI6C, (Santa Clara Valley), and Paul Gayet, AA1SU, (Vermont). 



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn