Register Account

Login Help


CQ Announces 2009 Hall of Fame Inductees


CQ magazine today announced its 2009 Hall of Fame inductees, welcoming 15 new members into the CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame, two new members of the CQ DX Hall of Fame and one new member of the CQ Contest Hall of Fame. The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame honors those individuals, whether licensed hams or not, who have made significant contributions to Amateur Radio; and those amateurs who have made significant contributions either to Amateur Radio, to their professional careers or to some other aspect of life on our planet. The CQ Contest and DX Halls of Fame honor those amateurs who not only excel in personal performance in these major areas of Amateur Radio but who also "give back" to Amateur Radio in outstanding ways.

The 2009 inductees (listed alphabetically) are:

  •  Bill Baker, W1BKR -- President Emeritus of WNET-TV (Thirteen), New York City's PBS flagship station.

  •  Loy Barton -- Developed class B plate modulation. For decades, this was the primary method of modulating tube transmitters.

  •  Frank Bauer, KA3HDO -- NASA Chief Engineer for Exploration Systems; International Chairman, Amateur Radio on the International Space Station (ARISS), 1996-2009; AMSAT Vice President for Human Spaceflight, 1991-2009.

  • William Bridges, W6FA -- Laser pioneer who developed the first noble gas -- argon, krypton, xenon -- lasers and the dominant modulation system for feeding data into fiber-optic cables; Professor Emeritus of Engineering at California Institute for Technology.

  •  Fernando Fernandez Martin, EA8AK -- Member of the European Parliament, representing Spain; former President of the Government of the Canary Islands, former President of URE, Spain's IARU Member-Society.

  •  George Floyd, WA4DGA (SK) -- Author of the "Scratchi" column in CQ for more than four decades. An engineer and executive at General Electric, he also wrote the "Lighthouse Larry" column in GE employee newsletters.

  •  Eric Haseltine, AB3DI -- Former Associate Director of National Intelligence for Science and Technology and former Director of Research for the National Security Agency (NSA); former Executive Vice President of Research and Development for Walt Disney Companies.

  •  Riley Hollingsworth, K4ZDH -- Former Special Counsel for the Spectrum Enforcement Division of the FCC's Enforcement Bureau. Hollingsworth is credited with "cleaning up" the ham bands after 15 years of neglect by the FCC.

  •  Jack Kilby -- Inventor of the integrated circuit, revolutionizing electronics, including Amateur Radio equipment.

  •  Alois Krischke, DJ0TR -- Prolific German author of antenna books. Rothammels Antennenbuch, a 1000 page reference showing virtually every Amateur Radio antenna ever designed, is in its 12th edition.

  •  Walt Maxwell, W2DU - Author and antenna designer who specializes in spacecraft communications.

  •  Lieutenant General Thomas Miller, K4IC (SK) -- Deputy Chief of Staff for Aviation, US Marine Corps from 1975-79. He was in charge of all Marine Corps aviation and is known as the "father" of short-takeoff and vertical landing (STOVL) aviation in the USMC. A close friend of former astronaut and Ohio Senator John Glenn, Miller quietly watched out for Amateur Radio interests on Capitol Hill.

  •  Wilse Morgan, WX7P -- Conducted the first Amateur Radio license exam session under the Volunteer Examiner program in 1984. Morgan helped get the VE program approved; also designed innovative antennas.

  •  Ron Parise, WA4SIR (SK) -- Astronaut and active ham in space. He was the first ham to operate packet radio from space and pioneered the "telebridge" concept for making more frequent school-to-shuttle contacts possible. Parise helped develop Radio JOVE, an educational program for monitoring natural radio signals from Jupiter.

  • Clay Whitehead, W6WW (SK) -- First Director of the White House Office of Telecommunications Policy in the 1970s, he reshaped America's television landscape by bringing competition to the domestic satellite market and made it feasible for cable companies to distribute their own programming via satellite.

The 2009 inductee to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame is The Reverend Paul Bittner, W0AIH. Bittner's station near Eau Claire, Wisconsin, is known in Midwestern contesting circles simply as "The Farm." Spreading across 120 acres, his farm grows a wide variety of antennas, as well as regular crops of new contesters. Bittner constantly seeks out and trains new contesters at his multi/multi station, and welcomes visiting hams from around the world. He was nominated by the Minnesota Wireless Association.

The 2009 inductees to the CQ DX Hall of Fame are:

  •  Neville Cheadle, G3NUG -- Nominated by both the Chiltern DX Club and the Southeastern DX Club, Cheadle celebrates his 50th anniversary in Amateur Radio this year. During that time, he has confirmed 366 DX countries and nearly 1000 islands. As founder of the Five Star DX Association (FSDXA), Cheadle has been instrumental in organizing four major DXpeditions that have involved more than 90 hams from 14 different countries and have accounted for more than 500,000 radio contacts! Neville is also the co-author of DXpeditioning Behind the Scenes, a handbook for hams on planning, setting up and operating successful DXpeditions.

  •  Tom Harrell, N4XP -- Harrell has confirmed 361 DXCC entities, holds 9-band DXCC, 5-band Worked All Zones and WPX awards for SSB, CW and mixed-mode. He has also operated from 19 different DXCC entities, including two DXpeditions on which he was Team Leader and three on which he was co-Team Leader. Most recently, he served as Director of Off-Island Support for the BS7H operation from Scarborough Reef, providing regular news reports for the DX community. Harrell was nominated by the German DX Foundation.

Formal inductions to the CQ Contest and DX Halls of Fame will be made at the contest and DX dinners, respectively, at the Dayton Hamvention®.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn