Register Account

Login Help


New Section Managers to Take Office July 1


In the only contested Section Manager race this spring, Paul Eakin, KJ4G, was elected as the ARRL Northern Florida Section Manager with 430 votes. Dale Sewell, W4NBF, received 385 votes, and Carl Zelich, AA4MI, received 370 votes. Ballots were counted Tuesday at ARRL Headquarters.

Eakin's two-year term begins on July 1; he will be stepping into the office that has been held by Rudy Hubbard, WA4PUP, since 1990. Hubbard has served nine continuous terms of office. A Life Member of ARRL, Eakin is from the Tallahassee area and he has been a licensed radio amateur since 1969. He has a strong background in Emergency Communications and many years of emergency service experience.

The ARRL Northern New Jersey Section is getting a new Section Manager starting on July 1, as well: Richard Krohn, N2SMV, of Manalapan, will be taking over the reins from Bill Hudzik, W2UDT, who has served as Section Manager since 2001.

The following incumbent ARRL Section Managers did not face opposition and were declared elected for the next two year terms of office beginning July 1: Tom Ciciora, KA9QPN (Illinois); Bill Woodhead, N1KAT (Maine); Bonnie Altus, AB7ZQ (Oregon); Bill Dale, N2RHV (Santa Clara Valley); Paul Gayet, AA1SU (Vermont), and Don Michalski, W9IXG (Wisconsin).

Nominations for the Indiana Section Manager position will be resolicited in July QST for an 18-month term of office beginning in January 2009.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn