Register Account

Login Help


Radio Amateurs Named to Order of Canada


Two radio amateurs were among those recently named to the Order of Canada. The list of recipients included telecommunications researcher Veena Rawat, VA3ITU, and Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield, VA3OOG/KC5RNJ.

Rawat was honored as an Officer of the Order of Canada for contributions to telecommunications engineering and for her leadership in establishing a global regulatory framework for radio spectrum management. She has served as president of the Communications Research Centre at Industry Canada and as a vice president at Research in Motion. Rawat chaired the World Radiocommunication Conference in 2003 and was instrumental in resolving the 40 meter “harmonization” issue that led to shifting international broadcasters from part of the 7 MHz band.

Hadfield was honored as an Officer of the Order of Canada for “his commitment to promoting scientific discovery and for sharing the wonders of space exploration with the world.” Hadfield was the International Space Station Expedition 35 commander during his 2013 duty tour.

The Order of Canada is the third-highest award in Canada, to recognize outstanding merit or distinguished service.





Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn