Register Account

Login Help


Scientist-Radio Amateur Named to Receive Prestigious Award


Ajay K. Poddar¸ AC2KG, of Elmwood, New Jersey, has been selected by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) as the winner of the 2015 International Frequency Control Symposium W.G. Cady Award. Poddar, a chief scientist at Synergy Microwave Corp and an academic, was cited for “the analysis, design and development of a host of frequency control products exhibiting state-of-the-art performance, including the development of extremely low noise crystal oscillator circuitry.” The award marks the second honor for Synergy Microwave scientists this year, and the third in 3 years. Synergy Chairman Ulrich Rohde, N1UL (ex-KA2WEU), recently was named as the recipient of the IEEE’s I. I. Rabi Award for 2015, and last year he won the C.B. Sawyer Memorial Award.

“In the history of the IEEE, no company ever got all three possible awards in two consecutive years in this field,” Rohde said.

In his current position, Poddar is responsible for the design and development of a host of frequency-generating components and signal-processing modules that hold performance records. Poddar has received more than a dozen awards for his scientific contributions and technological innovations, holds several dozen patents, and has published more than 200 scientific papers. He was named to the “List of Divine Innovators” in the November 2011 issue of Microwave Journal, to which he is a regular contributor. His recent three-part series on Möbius Strips, written in collaboration with Rohde, was well received.

Poddar and Rohde will be honored at the 2015 Joint Conference of the IEEE International Frequency Control Symposium and European Frequency and Time Forum, held April 12-16 in Denver.




Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn