Register Account

Login Help


Section Managers Winter Election Results


Two ARRL Sections -- Eastern Pennsylvania and Louisiana -- will get new Section Managers, as of April 1, 2012. Two other Sections -- San Diego and Virginia -- will keep their incumbent Section Managers. Ballots for these races were counted Tuesday, February 21 at ARRL Headquarters.

Eastern Pennsylvania

After serving more than 11 years as Eastern Pennsylvania Section Manager, Eric Olena, WB3FPL, of Mohnton, decided not to run for another term. Three hams threw their hats into the ring, vying to become the new Section Manager: Robert B. Famiglio, K3RF, of Media; Phil Theis, K3TUF, of Ephrata, and Andrew Shecktor, N3OMA, of Berwick. With 590 votes, Famiglio was declared the victor. Theis received 574 votes and Shecktor received 154 votes.

Famiglio -- an ARRL Life Member -- has been an active radio amateur for 44 years. He has served as ARES First District Emergency Coordinator for the last six years and as an ARRL Atlantic Division Volunteer Counsel for more than 25 years.


Louisiana will have a new Section Manager starting on April 1. Jim Coleman, AI5B, of Bogalusa, will be taking the reins from Gary Stratton, K5GLS, of Shreveport. Stratton, who decided not to run for another term, has served as Louisiana Section Manager since April 2008. Coleman is presently the Section Emergency Coordinator, and has served in that role since 2008.

San Diego

San Diego Section Manager Steve Early, AD6VI, of La Mesa, will continue as Section Manager in the ARRL’s San Diego Section. Early received 363 votes; challenger Patrick Bunsold, WA6MHZ, of El Cajon, received 234 votes. Early has served as Section Manager since 2008.


In Virginia, Carl Clements, W4CAC, of Portsmouth, was re-elected Section Manager in Virginia with 754 votes. His opponent, Joseph Imburgia, Jr, KI4LXT, of Yorktown, received 380 votes. Clements has served as Virginia Section Manager since April 2008. He also previously was the Section Manager from May 2001-March 2006.

The following incumbent ARRL Section Managers did not face opposition and were declared elected for their next terms of office beginning April 1, 2012: Pete Cecere, N2YJZ (Eastern New York); Bill Morine, N2COP (North Carolina), and Bob Schneider, AH6J (Pacific).

Since no nominations were received for the South Dakota Section Manager election by the nomination deadline of December 9, 2011, nominations are hereby re-solicited. Look for details in the “Section Manager Nomination Notice” in the Happenings column of April and May editions of QST.



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn