Register Account

Login Help


VE3PU and VE6NM Named to Canadian Amateur Radio Hall of Fame


J. Kenneth Pulfer, VE3PU (SK), and Earle Smith, VE6NM (SK), have been appointed to the Canadian Amateur Radio Hall of Fame.

Pulfer, who died last March, served as an official of Radio Amateurs of Canada (RAC) and later served for 15 years as an International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) technical representative. He was a key player at World Radiocommunication Conference 2003, in securing protections to for the Amateur and Amateur-Satellite Service, where an allocation for spaceborne Synthetic Aperture Radars (SARs) was created on 70 centimeters. At WRC-12 Pulfer was instrumental in persuading the Canadian administration to actively support an amateur MF allocation at 472-479 kHz.

Smith, a Nova Scotia native who died in February 2012, served as president of Radio Amateurs of Canada from 2004 until 2007.

The families of the two appointees will receive the posthumous awards in early 2014. A summary of their contributions to amateur radio will be published in The Canadian Amateur, the RAC journal.

The Canadian Amateur Radio Hall of Fame recognizes amateurs for outstanding achievement and for sustained service to Amateur Radio in Canada or to Amateur Radio at large. The Board of Trustees consists of a representative from each province of Canada, appointed by the RAC directors. — Radio Amateurs of Canada via Ed Frazer, VE7EF, Chair, Board of Trustees, Canadian Amateur Radio Hall of Fame



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn