Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB004 (2008)

ARLB004 ARRL Section Manager election results

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 4  ARLB004
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  February 20, 2008
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB004 ARRL Section Manager election results

In the only contested Section Manager race this Winter, Steve Early,
AD6VI, was elected ARRL San Diego Section Manager with 332 votes;
his opponent, Pat Bunsold, WA6MHZ, received 264 votes.  Election
ballots were counted at ARRL Headquarters on February 19, 2008.

Early, whose two-year term begins on April 1, 2008, said that he is
looking forward to the opportunity to serve.  He has been active in
several Amateur Radio clubs and ARES, as well as providing public
service support to agencies such as the American Red Cross and CERT
(Community Emergency Response Team).  He is also president of the
Palomar Amateur Radio Club (PARC).  Early takes over from Harry
Hodges, W6YOO, who was appointed to fill the vacant position in
November 2007.

Louisiana will also be getting a new Section Manager on April 1.
Gary Stratton, K5GLS, of Shreveport, the Louisiana Section Emergency
Coordinator for the last three years, will be taking the reins from
Mickey Cox, K5MC.  Cox, who has served as Section Manager for the
past eight years, decided not to run for another term of office.

Carl Clements, W4CAC, of Portsmouth, Virginia, returns to the
Virginia Section Manager's post on April 1.  He had previously
served as Virginia Section Manager from May 2001 to March 2006.
Glen Sage, W4GHS, the outgoing Virginia Section Manager, did not
seek a new term of office.

The following incumbent ARRL Section Managers did not face
opposition and were declared elected for their next terms of office
beginning April 1, 2008: Pete Cecere, N2YJZ, Eastern New York; Eric
Olena, WB3FPL, Eastern Pennsylvania; Tim Slay, N4IB, North Carolina;
Richard Beebe, N0PV, South Dakota, and Bob Schneider, AH6J, Pacific.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn