Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB015 (2017)

ARLB015 Spring Section Manager Election Results Announced

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 15  ARLB015
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  May 24, 2017
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB015 Spring Section Manager Election Results Announced

Northern New Jersey Section ARRL members have elected a new Section
Manager, while members in Utah have re-elected their Section Manager
for another 2-year term. Ballots for contested seats in the spring
election cycle were counted on May 23 at ARRL Headquarters.

In Northern New Jersey, Rob Roschewsk, KA2PBT, of Washington,
outpolled incumbent SM Steve Ostrove, K2SO, 399 to 307 votes.

Roschewsk has been licensed since 1982 and is a computer
server/network engineer. In his candidate statement, Roschewsk said
his goal is "to promote the diverse facets of Amateur Radio, with a
special focus on youth activities, building-making, contesting and
public service."

Ostrove has been the Northern New Jersey Section Manager since
September 2016, when he was appointed to complete the remaining term
of Rich Krohn, N2SMV, who stepped down midterm.

In Utah, incumbent SM Mel Parkes, NM7P, was re-elected to a ninth
consecutive term. In a very close race, Parkes received 351 votes,
and Pat Malan, N7PAT, of South Jordan, received 332 votes. Parkes
has been the Utah Section Manager since 1999.

Elsewhere, in the West Texas Section, H. Dale Durham, W5WI, of
Buffalo Gap was an uncontested nominee for the SM position. He has
been serving as Section Emergency Coordinator under current Section
Manager Ron Harden, KB5HGM, since 2015, and as Assistant Section
Manager since 2016. Harden did not run for a new term after serving
since 2015.

These incumbent Section Managers were unopposed in this election
cycle and were declared elected. Marty Pittinger, KB3MXM
(Maryland-DC); John Bigley, N7UR (Nevada); Peter Stohrer, K1PJS (New
Hampshire); Bob Beaudet, W1YRC (Rhode Island), and Dan Pruitt, AE6SX
(San Joaquin Valley).

All new terms of office begin on July 1.s


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn