Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB013 (2005)

ARLB013 Members pick new Section Managers in New Hampshire, West 

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 13  ARLB013
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  May 25, 2005
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB013 Members pick new Section Managers in New Hampshire, West

New Hampshire and West Texas will have new Section Managers starting
this summer. Ballots in the two contested seats were counted and
verified May 24 at ARRL Headquarters.

In New Hampshire, Sterling Eanes, AK1K, of Manchester garnered 333
votes to top Russ Santos, K1TSV, of Milford, who received 200 votes.
An ARRL Life Member, Eanes has been active in the Nashua Area Radio
Club where he has served as its chairman. He also helps run both
local and statewide training courses and exercises and helps as an
on-line mentor for the ARRL Emergency Communications Course. He's
been licensed since 1962.

Eanes will succeed Al Shuman, N1FIK, who chose not to seek another
term after serving since October 2000. Shuman also was SM from
December 1992 until June 1999.

In the West Texas Section election conducted this Spring, Bill
Lawless, W5WRL, of Midland outpolled Ricky Dean, AA5AW, of Borger,
229 to 67 votes. A radio amateur since the mid-1970s, Lawless has
been an Assistant SM since August 2004 and has been active in BPL
issues in Texas. He has served as club president for the Key City
Amateur Radio Club and as secretary/treasurer for the Permian Basin
Amateur Radio Club. He's also a Frequency Coordinator for the Texas
VHF FM Society.

Lawless will take over the SM post from John Dyer, AE5B, who did not
seek another term. Dyer has served as West Texas SM since October

Six sitting ARRL Section Managers faced no opposition in the current
election cycle and were declared elected for new terms. They are Tom
Abernethy, W3TOM, Maryland-DC; Bob Beaudet, W1YRC, Rhode Island;
Dick Flanagan, K7VC, Nevada; Bill Hudzik, W2UDT, Northern New
Jersey; Charles McConnell, W6DPD, San Joaquin Valley, and Mel
Parkes, AC7CP, Utah.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn