Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB016 (2012)

ARLB016 President Obama Announces Nomination of Mignon Clyburn for
New Term as FCC Commissioner

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 16  ARLB016
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  June 14, 2012
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB016 President Obama Announces Nomination of Mignon Clyburn for
New Term as FCC Commissioner

On June 6, President Barack Obama announced that he will nominate
Mignon Clyburn for a new term as one of five FCC Commissioners.
Clyburn, a Democrat, came to the Commission in August 2009, filling
the unexpired term of Republican Deborah Taylor Tate, whose tenure
as a Commissioner came to a close in January 2009 when the Senate
failed to confirm her nomination. Clyburn's current term expires
June 30.

"In renominating Commissioner Clyburn, President Obama has made an
outstanding choice for the Commission and for the American people,"
said FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski in a written statement. "As I
know from working with her for the past several years, Commissioner
Clyburn is a strong leader, focused on helping all Americans harness
the benefits of broadband. I congratulate her."

Prior to joining the FCC, Clyburn -- the daughter of Assistant
Democratic Party Leader of the United States House of
Representatives James Clyburn (D-SC) -- served on the Public Service
Commission of South Carolina for 11 years. The Public Service
Commission regulates South Carolina's investor owned public
utilities, including providers of telecommunications services.
Before her election to that body, she spent 14 years as the
publisher and general manager of The Coastal Times, a weekly
newspaper in Charleston, South Carolina.

In 1998, Clyburn was elected by the South Carolina General Assembly
as a Commissioner to represent the Sixth Congressional District; she
was re-elected three times, chairing the Commission from 2002-2004.
She is a past chair of the Southeastern Association of Regulatory
Utility Commissioners, and served as the chair of the Washington
Action Committee of the National Association of Regulatory Utility
Commissioners (NARUC). Clyburn also served on NARUC's Audit
Committee and Utilities Market Access Partnership Board.

For much of this year, the FCC has been operating with just three
commissioners: Robert McDowell, Genachowski and Clyburn. Both
Genachowski and Clyburn are Democrats; McDowell is a Republican.
Last month, two new Commissioners -- Democrat Jessica Rosenworcel
and Republican Ajit Pai -- were sworn in, bringing the Commission to
full strength. Only three sitting Commissioners may be members of
the same political party, and none can have a financial interest in
any Commission-related business.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn