Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB019 (2005)

ARLB019 LA Section Manager re-elected; new SMs picked in West 
Virginia, Wyoming

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 19  ARLB019
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  August 24, 2005
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB019 LA Section Manager re-elected; new SMs picked in West 
Virginia, Wyoming

ARRL members in the Los Angeles Section have re-elected incumbent
Section Manager Phineas J. Icenbice Jr, W6BF. He edged out Dino
Darling, K6RIX, 515 to 498 to retain his post for another two years.
He's served as SM since 1987. Elsewhere, the West Virginia and
Wyoming sections will get new SMs this fall. Ballots in contested
elections were counted August 23 at ARRL Headquarters.

In West Virginia, L. Ann Rinehart, KA8ZGY, of S Charleston, was
unopposed in her bid to replace outgoing SM Hal Turley, W8HC, who
did not seek another term. Rinehart holds an appointment as an
Official Emergency Station and previously served as Affiliated Club
Coordinator for the section.

In Wyoming, Dwayne Allen, WY7FD, of Devils Tower, topped a field of
three candidates to become the new SM. Allen garnered 75 votes,
while J. Steven Cochrane, W7JSC, received 52, and Walter C.
Marshall, W7SE, got 24. Incumbent Wyoming SM Bill Edwards, WU7Y, did
not seek re-election.

An Amateur Extra class licensee, Allen has served as ARRL Emergency
Coordinator in Crook County and as a Technical Specialist in the
North Dakota Section where he previously lived. He also is a
Volunteer Examiner. Because nominations for Wyoming SM had been
re-solicited, Allen will serve an 18-month term.

Seven sitting SMs were re-elected for new terms without opposition.
They are Jeff Ryan, K0RM, Colorado; Mark Tharp, KB7HDX, Eastern
Washington; Susan Swiderski, AF4FO, Georgia; Doug Dunn, K7YD,
Montana (18-month term); Jettie Hill, W6RFF, Sacramento Valley; Bill
Hillendahl, KH6GJV, San Francisco; Ray Taylor, N5NAV, South Texas,
and Ed Bruette, N7NVP, Western Washington.

Terms for all successful candidates begin October 1, 2005.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn