Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB019 (2020)

ARLB019 Rene Fonseca, NP3O, Elected as Puerto Rico Section Manager

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 19  ARLB019
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  August 20, 2020
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB019 Rene Fonseca, NP3O, Elected as Puerto Rico Section Manager

Challenger Rene Fonseca, NP3O, has been elected as ARRL Puerto Rico
Section Manager, defeating two other candidates including incumbent
Oscar Resto, KP4RF. Fonseca, of Fajardo, received 85 votes, Juan
Sepulveda Mercado, KP3CR, garnered 48 votes, and incumbent Section
Manager Oscar Resto, KP4RF, got 31 votes. Resto has been Puerto
Rico's Section Manager since 2016. An ARRL Life Member, Fonseca is
returning as SM, having served two previous terms from 2012 to 2016.
His new term begins on October 1, 2020.

The Puerto Rico Section Manager election was the only contested
election in the Summer round of SM elections. Ballots were counted
on August 18 at ARRL Headquarters.

In Minnesota, Bill Mitchell, AE0EE, of Minneapolis, will become the
new Section Manager this fall. Mitchell was the only nominee when
the nomination deadline arrived in early June. Incumbent Skip
Jackson, KS0J, chose not to run for a new term after a 16-year run
that began in 2004.

In North Dakota, Richard Budd, W0TF, will begin a full 2-year term
of office after being appointed in June to succeed Nancy Yoshida,
K0YL. She stepped down to become vice president of the YL
International Single Sideband System.

The following incumbent SMs ran unopposed and were considered
elected. Chuck Motes, K1DFS (Connecticut); Dan Marler, K7REX
(Idaho); Scott Yonally, N8SY (Ohio); Kevin O'Dell, N0IRW (Oklahoma);
Barry Porter, KB1PA (Southern Florida); Fred Kleber, K9VV (Virgin
Islands); Laura Mueller, N2LJM (Western New York).


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn