Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB021 (2006)

ARLB021 New ARRL section managers to take office

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 21  ARLB021
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  October 20, 2006
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB021 New ARRL section managers to take office

New ARRL section managers will take office in three sections, while
an appointee will assume the reins in a fourth section due to a
resignation. Incumbent SMs in six other ARRL sections were elected
to new terms without opposition in the current SM election cycle.
There were no contested races.

California's Sacramento Valley Section will get a new SM December 1,
when W.J. ''Casey'' McPartland, W7IB, of Meadow Vista takes over to
fill the 10 months remaining on the term of current SM Jettie Hill,
W6RFF. Hill is stepping aside. McPartland now serves as a Sacramento
Valley Assistant SM and as an Official Emergency Station.

Hill served as Santa Clara Valley Section Communications Manager
(SCM) from 1978 until 1982, and he was Sacramento Valley SM from
1989 until 2000 and again since 2002. Hill also was the ARRL Pacific
Division Vice Director from January 1982 through December 1983.

Hill recommended McPartland as his successor, and ARRL Field and
Educational Services Manager Dave Patton, NN1N, recently announced
the appointment.

Elsewhere: In the Eastern Massachusetts Section, Arthur S.
Greenberg, K1GBX, of Georgetown, will succeed current SM Mike
Neilsen, W1MPN, who decided against running for another term. A ham
since 1957, Greenberg has a background in electronics and worked in
the computer industry for many years before retiring in 1993.

In the New York City-Long Island Section, current Section Emergency
Coordinator Tom Carrubba, KA2D, of W Babylon will succeed current SM
George Tranos, N2GA. Tranos, who's served as SM since 1998, did not
run for another term.

In the Northern New York Section, Tom Valosin, WB2KLD, of
Middleburgh, takes over for current SM Thomas Dick, KF2GC, who did
not seek a new term. Dick has been SM since 2000. Valosin has been
an Assistant SM since 1996 and an Official Observer since 1993.

Incumbent SMs returning to office are Dale Bagley, K0KY, Missouri;
Matthew Anderson, KA0BOJ, Nebraska; Jim Boehner, N2ZZ, South
Carolina; Jean Priestley, KA2YKN, Southern New Jersey; Gerald ''Dee''
Turner, N4GD, West Central Florida, and Larry O'Toole, K3LBP,
Western Pennsylvania.

With the exception of McPartland, two-year terms for new and
returning section managers begin January 1.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn