Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB023 (2017)

ARLB023 Ballots Counted in 2017 Director, Vice Director Elections

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 23  ARLB023
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  November 20, 2017
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB023 Ballots Counted in 2017 Director, Vice Director Elections

The votes are in, and the ballots have been tallied at ARRL
Headquarters in contested Director and Vice Director elections.

In a two-way race to fill the Dakota Division Director's chair being
vacated by Kent Olson, KA0LDG, the Division's members have elected
Matt Holden, K0BBC, of Bloomington, Minnesota. Holden, the current
Vice Director, received 698 votes, while Dean Summers, N0ND, of
Dickinson, North Dakota, got 345 votes. Holden had been appointed as
Vice Director in February 2016 after former Director Greg Widin,
K0GW, became ARRL First Vice President. Olson announced earlier this
year that he would not seek another term.

In a four-way race for the Vice Director's chair that Holden will
vacate, the winner was Lynn Nelson, W0ND, of Minot, North Dakota.
Nelson earned 427 votes; Tom Karnauskas, N0UW, of Owatonna,
Minnesota, received 338 votes; Chris Stallkamp, KI0D, of Selby,
South Dakota got 175 votes; and Jay Maynard, K5ZC, of Fairmont,
Minnesota, picked up 93 votes. Nelson is North Dakota Section
Manager, while Stallkamp is South Dakota Section Manager.

In the Atlantic Division, now headed by Director Tom Abernethy,
W3TOM, who qualified for re-election, ARRL members chose Riley
Hollingsworth, K4ZDH, as Vice Director.  In the final tally,
Hollingsworth of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, received 2,559 votes,
while Lloyd Roach, K3QNT, of Bedford, Pennsylvania, garnered 1,348
votes. Hollingsworth had served as FCC special counsel overseeing
Amateur Radio enforcement.

In the Midwest Division, Director Rod Blocksome, K0DAS, was
challenged for re-election by Cecil Miller, WB0RIW, of Wichita,
Kansas. The winner was Blocksome with 1,249 votes, while Miller
tallied 792. Blocksome was elected Midwest Division Vice Director in
2011. Subsequently he was the only candidate for the Director's
chair, succeeding Cliff Ahrens, K0CA, who retired in 2014. Vice
Director Art Zygielbaum, K0AIZ, was unopposed for re-election.

Running unopposed for new terms were Delta Division Director David
Norris, K5UZ; Vice Director Ed Hudgens, WB4RHQ; Great Lakes Division
Director Dale Williams, WA8EFK, and Vice Director Tom Delaney,

The Ethics and Elections Committee established the eligibility of
all candidates and declared all unopposed candidates elected for
3-year terms starting January 1, 2018.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn