Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB028 (2010)

ARLB028 New Vice Director for Southeastern Division; Southwestern, 
West Gulf Divisions Remain Unchanged

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 28  ARLB028
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  November 19, 2010
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB028 New Vice Director for Southeastern Division; Southwestern,
West Gulf Divisions Remain Unchanged

On Friday, November 19, ARRL staff members opened ballots for the
Director and Vice Director races in the Southeastern and West Gulf
Divisions and the Director race in the Southwestern Division. After
all the ballots were counted, there will be a new Vice Director in
the Southeastern Division, while the West Gulf Division leadership
team remains in place, as does the Director position in the
Southwestern Division. Terms for Directors and Vice Directors begin
at noon on January 1, 2011 and run for three years.

The following ran unopposed and were earlier declared the winner of
their elections by the League's Ethics and Elections Committee:
Pacific Division Director Bob Vallio, W6RGG, and Vice Director Jim
Tiemstra, K6JAT; Rocky Mountain Division Director Brian Mileshosky,
N5ZGT, and Vice Director Dwayne Allen, WY7FD; and Southwestern
Division Vice Director Marty Woll, N6VI. The rules state that if a
candidate is running unopposed, he or she shall be declared the
winner without balloting.

Southeastern Division

Incumbent Southeastern Division Director Greg Sarratt, W4OZK, of
Huntsville, Alabama, faced two challengers for his position: Sherri
Brower, W4STB, of Vero Beach, Florida, and Doug Rehman, K4AC, of
Mount Dora, Florida. Sarratt was the winner, with 2074 votes. Rehman
came in second with 1555 votes, and Brower came in third with 1529
votes. Sarratt has served one term as Director; in 2007 he was
elected to replace long-serving Director Frank Butler, W4RH, who
retired.  Two candidates were seeking the Vice Director position in
the Southeastern Division: incumbent Jeff Beals, WA4AW, of
Loxahatchee, Florida, and Andrea Hartlage, KG4IUM, of Grayson,
Georgia. Hartlage was declared the winner, garnering 3573 votes;
Beals had 1615 votes. Beals was appointed Vice Director in June 2009
upon the death of Vice Director Sandy Donahue, W4RU.

Southwestern Division

Current ARRL Southwestern Division Director Dick Norton, N6AA, of
Topanga, California, faced challenger Carl Gardenias, WU6D, of
Perris, California, with Norton the victor. Norton, who was seeking
his third term as Director, had 2218 votes, while Gardenias had 1132

West Gulf Division

Current ARRL West Gulf Division Director Dr David Woolweaver, K5RAV,
of Harlingen, Texas, faced Larry Essary, K5XG, of Lucas, Texas, in
the West Gulf Division Director race. With 2387 votes, Dr Woolweaver
was declared the winner; Essary received 1262 votes. Dr Woolweaver
previously served as Vice Director from 2000 to 2009 and became
Director upon the resignation of Coy Day, N5OK.

Incumbent West Gulf Division Vice Director John Robert Stratton,
N5AUS, of Austin, Texas, squared off against challenger Michael
Reynolds, W0KIE, of Tulsa, Oklahoma. Stratton won the race with 2427
votes; Reynolds had 1203 votes. In August 2010, Stratton was
appointed Vice Director after the resignation of John Thomason,
WB5SYT.  "It is great to see such an interest on the part of members
in this election," said ARRL Midwest Division Director Cliff Ahrens,
K0CA. "I would like to thank everyone for running and also thank the
ARRL members in the Southeastern, Southwestern and West Gulf
Division who participated. The big turnout shows the high level of
interest our members have in Amateur Radio."

Along with Ahrens, New England Division Director Tom Frenaye, K1KI,
and ARRL Chief Executive Officer David Sumner, K1ZZ, served as
election tellers; Ahrens and Frenaye are members of the ARRL's 
Ethics and Elections Committee. Erik Morrissey from the accounting
firm of J. H. Cohn LLP, served as the independent observer.  The
next scheduled Division elections are next fall for the ARRL
Atlantic, Dakota, Delta, Great Lakes and Midwest Divisions. In
accordance with League's Bylaws, ballots will be counted on November
18, 2011.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn