Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB029 (2005)

ARLB029 Western Massachusetts, Delaware to get new Section Managers

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 29  ARLB029
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  November 22, 2005
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB029 Western Massachusetts, Delaware to get new Section Managers

New Section Managers start January 1 in the ARRL Western
Massachusetts and Delaware sections.

In Western Massachusetts Ed Emco, W1KT, of Worcester, will take over
the reins from incumbent SM William "Bill" Voedisch Jr, W1UD.  Emco
outpolled Voedisch 187 to 120 votes.

A radio amateur since age 13, Emco has been active as an ARRL
Official Observer, Official Emergency Station, and Assistant
Emergency Coordinator. He's involved in ARES, RACES and SKYWARN and
is a member of the Worcester Emergency Communications Team. He also
enjoys contesting and DXing.

Voedisch has been Western Massachusetts SM since 1996. He served
previously as SM in 1988 and 1989.

In Delaware, Frank T. Filipkowski Jr, AD3M, of Wilmington, was the
only nominee to succeed Randall Carlson, WB0JJX, who decided not to
run for another term. Carlson has served in the Section's top
leadership post since December 1992. A native of Delaware,
Filipkowski has been licensed since 1968. Trained in all three
levels of the ARRL Amateur Radio Emergency Communications Course,
he's an ARES and National Weather Service SKYWARN volunteer.

Incumbent SMs were unchallenged for new terms in eight other ARRL
sections. They are Greg Sarratt, W4OZK, Alabama; David Stevens,
KL7EB, Alaska; Ti-Michelle Connelly, NJ6T, East Bay; Ron Cowan,
KB0DTI, Kansas; Dale Williams, WA8EFK, Michigan; Bill Weatherford,
KM5FT, New Mexico; Robert Griffin, K6YR, Santa Barbara, and Larry
Marshall, WB4NCW, Tennessee.

Two-year terms of office for all successful candidates begin January
1, 2006.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn