Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB035 (2001)

ARLB035 Section Manager Election Results

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 35  ARLB035
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  August 22, 2001
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB035 Section Manager Election Results

West Virginia will get a new Section Manager October 1. In
membership balloting, Hal L. Turley, KC8FS, of S Charleston narrowly
defeated incumbent O.N. ''Olie'' Rinehart, WD8V, 252 to 235. Rinehart
has served as SM since 1994. Turley has been a ham for 35 years and
an Official Observer since 1995. He's an active DXer.

In the only other contested race, incumbent San Francisco SM Leonard
Gwinn, WA6KLK, outpolled former SM John Wallack, W6TLK, 374 to 126.
Gwinn had been appointed to complete Wallack's term following
Wallack's resignation in November 1999.

Colorado also will get a new SM this fall. Jeff Ryan, N0WPA, of
Colorado Springs was the only candidate to replace Tim Armagost,
WB0TUB, who did not run for re-election. Ryan has been an Official
Emergency Station since 1994, an Assistant Section Manager since
1996 and has also held an appointment as an Emergency Coordinator.

Incumbent section managers ran unopposed in six other ARRL sections.
Re-elected were Kyle Pugh, KA7CSP, Eastern Washington; Sandy
Donahue, W4RU, Georgia; Phineas J. Icenbice Jr, W6BF, Los Angeles;
Jerry Boyd, K6BZ, Sacramento Valley; E. Ray Taylor, N5NAV, South
Texas, and Harry Lewis, W7JWJ, Western Washington.

Votes were counted August 21 at ARRL Headquarters. All terms are for
two years beginning October 1, 2001.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn