Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB044 (2000)

ARLB044 ARRL Division Election Results

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 44  ARLB044
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  November 17, 2000
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB044 ARRL Division Election Results

The ARRL Central Division will get a new director, and a former
Hudson Division vice director and director and ARRL First Vice
President is back as the division's new vice director. Incumbents
will return to office in the Northwestern, New England and Roanoke
divisions. Ballots were counted and tabulated today at ARRL

In the Central Division, challenger George R. ''Dick'' Isely, W9GIG,
topped the field in a three-way race for the Director's seat. He
outpolled incumbent Director Edmond A. Metzger, W9PRN, and a second
challenger, Richard David Klatzco Jr, N9TQA. Isely picked up 1926
votes to 1466 for Metzger and 946 for Klatzco. Metzger has served as
Central Division Director since 1981 and has 42 years of service as
an ARRL elected official.

Central Division Vice Director Howard Huntington, K9KM, was
unopposed for re-election.

In the Hudson Division, former ARRL First Vice President and Hudson
Division Director and Vice Director Stephen A. Mendelsohn, W2ML,
ousted incumbent Vice Director J.P. Kleinhaus, W2XX. The vote was
2240 for Mendelsohn and 1187 for Kleinhaus. Hudson Director Frank
Fallon, N2FF, was unopposed for re-election.

In the Northwestern Division, incumbent Director Greg Milnes, W7OZ,
edged out Mary E. Lewis, W7QGP, a former Northwestern Director, 2383
to 2237.

Incumbent Northwestern Division Vice Director James E. Fenstermaker,
K9JF, outdistanced challenger Edward W. Bruette, N7NVP, 2620 to

Isely, the Central Division Director-elect, is an ARRL and AMSAT
Life Member and Extra class licensee. A resident of St Charles,
Illinois, Isely helped organize the National Frequency Coordinators'
Council and served four years as a director.

Mendelsohn, the Hudson Division Vice Director-elect, was a familiar
face on the ARRL Board for 17 years. While First Vice President,
Mendelsohn was a nominee to succeed Rod Stafford, W6ROD, for the
ARRL presidency. He was thwarted in that bid last January when the
ARRL Board of Directors elected Jim Haynie, W5JBP, on a 9-6 vote.

An ARRL life member, Mendelsohn lives in Dumont, New Jersey. During
his earlier tenure as a League official, Mendelsohn headed the ARRL
Computer Committee that spearheaded system upgrades at ARRL

Incumbent New England Director Tom Frenaye, K1KI, and Vice Director
Mike Raisbeck, K1TWF, and Roanoke Director Dennis Bodson, W4PWF, and
Vice Director Les Shattuck, were elected without opposition. All
terms are for three years beginning at noon January 1, 2001.

The election results were as follows:

Central Division Director
George R. Isely, W9GIG  (1926)
Richard David Klatzco, N9TQA  (946)
Edmond A. Metzger, W9PRN  (1466)

Central Division Vice Director
Howard Huntington, K9KM (unopposed)

Hudson Division Director
Frank Fallon, N2FF (unopposed)

Hudson Division Vice Director
J. P. Kleinhaus, W2XX  (1187)
Stephen A. Mendelsohn, W2ML  (2240)

New England Division Director
Tom Frenaye, K1KI (unopposed)

New England Division Vice Director
Mike Raisbeck, K1TWF (unopposed)

Northwestern Division Director
Mary E. Lewis, W7QGP  (2237)
Greg Milnes, W7OZ  (2383)

Northwestern Division Vice Director
Edward W. Bruette, N7NVP  (1873)
Jim Fenstermaker, K9JF  (2620)

Roanoke Division Director
Dennis Bodson, W4PWF (unopposed)

Roanoke Division Vice Director
Leslie J. Shattuck, K4NK (unopposed)


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn