Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB045 (1996)

ARLB045 ARRL Board meets

ARRL Bulletin 45  ARLB045
From ARRL Headquarters
Newington CT  July 22, 1996
To all radio amateurs

ARLB045 ARRL Board meets

The ARRL Board of Directors met July 18-20, 1996, at Rocky Hill,
Connecticut. Here is a summary of the meeting highlights:

The Executive Vice President was instructed to use all available
means to vigorously oppose commercial encroachment into the 2-meter
and 70-cm bands.

Staff and counsel were directed to coordinate with FCC, and pursue
in Congress, legislation that would permit FCC to temporarily
suspend amateur operator licenses upon presentation of evidence
sufficient to establish intentional violation of the Communications
Act or Part 97. Such suspensions would be effective immediately upon
issuance by FCC of a suspension order.

The League will petition the FCC for a rule change to permit
Advanced class volunteer examiners to administer all examination
elements required for the General class license.

The League's Ad Hoc Committee on Repeater Coordination was
authorized to continue discussions with the National Frequency
Coordinators Council.

In a separate repeater matter, the Board authorized staff, in
exchange for supplying repeater data without constraint, to
reimburse each recognized local frequency coordination body an
amount equivalent to the cost of collecting such data independently.

The WRC-99 Planning Committee was authorized funding to conduct a
survey as part of its work in developing recommendations for the
ARRL Board. The international Morse code requirement is one topic on
the WRC-99 agenda.

The Board congratulated the organizers, competitors, judges, and
referees of the recently-concluded World Radiosport Team
Championship (WRTC) held in San Francisco and thanked the FCC for
its support of this unique event.

The Executive Committee will review current League documentation for
the purpose of developing a Board Member Code of Ethics.

The Membership Services Committee will study compliance with band
plans, and report back to the Board. The committee also was asked to
request the DXAC to study the rules concerning DXCC accreditation.

The Contest Advisory Committee will study ways of better
incorporating 50 MHz into existing ARRL contests.

The Digital Committee, having completed its work, was discharged
with the thanks of the Board. The membership of the Future Systems
Committee will be expanded.

Michelle Ritterbusch, N1PNT, was named recipient of the Hiram Percy
Maxim Memorial Award for 1995. Frank Witt, AI1H, won the 1995 ARRL
Technical Excellence Award for his series of articles, ''How to
Evaluate Your Antenna Tuner,'' in the April and May, 1995, issues of
QST. Robert Josuweit, WA3PZO, won the 1995 Philip J. McGan Silver
Antenna Award.

Andrew Blackburn, III, WD4AFY, won the 1995 Herb S. Brier Instructor
of the Year Award. The 1995 Professional Educator of the Year Award
went to David Reeves, KF6PJ. Joseph Tokarz, KB9EZZ, was designated
recipient of the 1995 Professional Instructor of the Year Award.
Rick Teasetano, N5KLM, won the 1995 Excellence in Recruiting Award.

Full details will appear in September QST.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn