Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB049 (1999)

ARLB049 International Humanitarian Award nominations open

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 49  ARLB049
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  August 6, 1999
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB049 International Humanitarian Award nominations open

Nominations are open for the 1999 ARRL International Humanitarian
Award. The award is dedicated to those amateurs who, through Amateur
Radio, are devoted to promoting the welfare of mankind. The prize
goes each year to truly outstanding Amateur Radio operators in areas
of international humanitarianism and the furtherance of peace.

Any radio amateur or group of amateurs worldwide who has provided
extraordinary service through their Amateur Radio skills for the
benefit of others in times of crisis or disaster is qualified to
receive the award.

The ARRL International Humanitarian Award recognizes the hobby's
international communication role and that hams regularly help people
in need throughout the world. Amateur Radio is one of the few media
where average people throughout the world can meet to talk to each
other and spread goodwill across otherwise impenetrable political
boundaries. The Award is intended to promote positive efforts toward
international understanding and peaceful communication.

The award recipient is selected by a committee appointed by the
League's President. The committee will accept nominations from a
licensed radio amateur, governmental or any other organization that
has received the benefits of the radio amateur's extraordinary
service. Nominations must include a summary of the nominee's actions
that qualify the recipient for the award and statements from at
least two references-including names and addresses-for verification.

All nominations and supporting materials for the 1999 award must be
submitted in writing in English to ARRL International Humanitarian
Award, 225 Main St, Newington, CT 06111 USA. Nominations must be
received by December 31, 1999. In the event that no nominations are
received, the committee itself may determine possible recipients or
decide to make no award.

The 1998 award went to the Radio Amateur du Quebec Inc, for its
efforts during a devastating ice storm.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn