Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB068 (2002)

ARLB068 ARRL announces Director, Vice Director election results

QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 68  ARLB068
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  November 15, 2002
To all radio amateurs 

ARLB068 ARRL announces Director, Vice Director election results

Members of the ARRL's Great Lakes Division have elected Jim Weaver,
K8JE, of Mason, Ohio, to lead their division for the next three
years.  Weaver, with 2295 votes, topped the field in a three-way
race.  Incumbent Gary Johnston, KI4LA, got 1629 votes, and Paul
Daley, WT8S, picked up 783. Incumbents were re-elected in contested
races in the Atlantic, Delta and Midwest divisions.

''I will seek opinions and fully represent the division,'' Weaver
said during the Great Lakes campaign. ''I will not forget that ARRL
is its members.'' An ARRL Life Member and an amateur licensee for 40
years, Weaver also pledged--among other things--to seek ways to
improve recruitment, promote increased awareness of League services
and join the fight against restrictive antenna laws, ordinances and
deed covenant, conditions and restrictions (CC&Rs).

Weaver served as a Great Lakes Assistant Director under four
directors. He's active in traffic nets, DXCC and 10-10 International
as well as in local clubs, and he once wrote a newspaper column on
ham radio.

The former Great Lakes Vice Director, Johnston had been seeking
election in his own right to the director's position he gained
following the surprise resignation of George Race, WB8BGY, during
last July's ARRL Board of Directors' meeting. Former Michigan
Section Manager Dick Mondro, W8FQT, was unopposed for Great Lakes
Vice Director.

The only other director's seat up for grabs was in the Atlantic
Division, where incumbent Bernie Fuller, N3EFN, handily won
re-election over challenger Anthony Gargano, N2SS. The vote was 3115
to 1948.

In the Delta Division, incumbent Henry Leggette, WD4Q, was
re-elected as Vice Director over Nicholas Smith, W4GKM. The final
tally was 1520 to 629. Delta Division Director Rick Roderick, K5UR,
had no opposition.

In the Midwest Division, incumbent Vice Director Bruce Frahm, K0BJ,
overcame a challenge from Bill Wheeler, K0DEW, 1231 to 1036. Midwest
Division Director Wade Walstrom, W0EJ, also was unopposed for

Dakota Division Director Jay Bellows, K0QB, and Vice Director Twila
Greenheck, N0JPH, also faced no opposition in their bids for
re-election. Candidates running unopposed were declared elected.

Ballots in the four divisional races were counted November 15 at
ARRL Headquarters. New terms of office begin January 1, 2003.  


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn