Register Account

Login Help

ARRL General Bulletin ARLB072 (1995)

ARLB072 ARRL Board of Directors
QST de W1AW  
ARRL Bulletin 72  ARLB072
From ARRL Headquarters  
Newington CT  July 24, 1995
To all radio amateurs 
ARLB072 ARRL Board of Directors
The ARRL Board of Directors met in second session, in Rocky Hill,
Connecticut, on Friday, July 21, and Saturday, July 22, 1995. Major
actions taken include the following.
The Board of Directors expressed its gratitude to past President
George S. Wilson, III, W4OYI, for his many years of dedicated
service and conferred upon him the title of ARRL President Emeritus.
Dick Jansson, WD4FAB, was named recipient of the ARRL Technical
Merit Award for his contributions to Amateur Radio through his work
on amateur satellites.
Philip A. Downes, N1IFP, was named ARRL Professional Educator of the
Year for 1994. Charles S. Ward, KJ4RV, was tabbed as the ARRL
Professional Instructor of the Year for 1994. Chris Townsend NU7V,
won honors as the Herb S. Brier Instructor of the Year. Karl
Lambert, KB4DCR, won the Excellence in Recruiting Award.
The Board selected Dr. Ulrich L. Rohde, KA2WEU, as the recipient of
the Technical Excellence Award for his series of articles, Key
Components of Modern Receiver Design, which appeared in the May,
June, July and December, 1994, issues of QST.
Joseph Phillips, K8QOE, and Michael Karp, AF2L, were named
corecipients of the Philip J. McGan Silver Antenna Award for 1994.
The Board thanked all amateurs for their public relations efforts
throughout the year.
The Board approved the institution of three year terms for ARRL
Directors and Vice Directors, to be implemented in accordance with a
transition schedule beginning in 1998.
The Board directed that the ARRL staff create a plan, including a
budget, for the creation of standardized testing procedures for
consumer electronics equipment to ascertain their degree of immunity
to RF interference.
The Board declined to have the ARRL participate actively in the
recently created corporation of volunteer examiner coordinators.
The ARRL will produce a handout aimed at new hams, explaining the
concept of band planning, and will include approved band plans.
Changes were made to the operating procedures of the ARRL Awards
Committee and Advisory Committees. Membership of the Awards
Committee was reduced to six members. An ad hoc committee was
created to review the terms of reference and operating method of
Advisory Committees.
The Board adopted a resolution thanking NASA for its continued
support of the SAREX program.
Details to follow in September QST.


Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn