Register Account

Login Help


ARRL Spring Section Manager Election Results Announced


Of the nine Section Manager elections this spring, two were decided by member balloting. Ballots were counted on May 22 at ARRL Headquarters. Terms for these ARRL Field Organization officials begin July 1.

The incumbent Indiana Section Manager -- John Poindexter, W3ML, of Knox, who has served as Section Manager since 2009 -- decided not to run for a new term of office. Two radio amateurs vied for the open position, with Lou Everett Sr, WA5LOU, of Indianapolis, being declared the winner with 596 votes. His opponent Brian Jenks, W9BGJ, of Fort Wayne, received 429 votes. Everett has been serving in the Indiana Field Organization as the Indiana Section Traffic Manager, a Net Manger, Official Relay Station and as an Official Observer.

In Northern Florida, incumbent Section Manager Paul Eakin, KJ4G, of Panacea, was re-elected with 627 votes. His opponent Gary Alberstadt, KA3FZO, of Monticello, received 434 votes. Eakin has served as Section Manager since 2008.

Santa Clara Valley will also have a new Section Manager as of July 1: Brandon Bianchi, NI6C, of Salinas, will be stepping into the Section Manger’s position, taking over from Phil Steffora, K6TT, who decided not to run for a new term of office. Bianchi is currently serving as an Assistant Section Manager. Bianchi did not face an opponent for the Section Manager position.

The following incumbent ARRL Section Managers did not face opposition and were declared elected for their next terms of office beginning July 1, 2012: Bonnie Altus, AB7ZQ (Oregon); Larry Camp, WB8R (Michigan); Tom Ciciora, KA9QPN (Illinois); Paul Gayet, AA1SU (Vermont); Don Michalski,W9IXG (Wisconsin), and Bill Woodhead, N1KAT (Maine).



Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn