Register Account

Login Help


Balloting Set for this Fall in Two ARRL Divisions


When the ARRL Board of Directors gathers for its Annual Meeting in January 2015, there will be some new faces around the table. ARRL members in the Atlantic Division will elect a new Director and Vice Director, while members in the Great Lakes Division will choose a Vice Director. Two sitting directors have opted not to run for election: Cliff Ahrens, K0CA, who was appointed in 2010 to succeed Director, now Honorary Vice President, Bruce Frahm, K0BJ, in the Midwest Division, and Bill Edgar, N3LLR, who has headed the Atlantic Division since 2006.


Succeeding Ahrens as Midwest Division Director next January 1 will be current Vice Director Rod Blocksome, K0DAS, the sole candidate for the position. He has served as Vice Director since 2010, when he was appointed to succeed Ahrens. No candidates stepped forward to run for the Vice Director’s slot that Blocksome is vacating, however, so ARRL President Kay Craigie, N3KN, will appoint someone to the post, once it is officially declared open.

Two candidates are hoping to succeed Edgar in the Atlantic Division. They are current Vice Director Tom Abernethy, W3TOM, and Phil Theis, K3TUF, who ran for the office in 2011. There is a three-way race for the Vice Director’s position. Running are Scott Bauer, W2LC, who served previously as Western New York Section Manager; Bob Famiglio, K3RF, the current Eastern Pennsylvania Section Manager, and John Mueller, K2BT, the current Western New York SM.

In the only other contest, members in the Great Lakes Division will choose between incumbent Vice Director Tom Delaney, W8WTD, and Steve Putman, N8ZR, to fill the Vice Director’s chair. Delaney was appointed as Vice Director earlier this year after the former Vice Director, Dale Williams, WA8EFK, became Director when Jim Weaver, K8JE, stepped down from the Board. Williams is the only candidate for Great Lakes Division Director and has been declared elected.

Incumbents in the Dakota and Delta divisions also are running unopposed and have been declared elected. They are Dakota Division Director Greg Widin, K0GW, and Vice Director Kent Olson, KA0LDG, and Delta Division Director David Norris, K5UZ, and Vice Director Ed Hudgens, WB4RHQ.

Ballots in contested races will be counted and successful candidates announced on November 21. Those elected take office for 3-year terms starting at noon Eastern Time on January 1, 2015.





Instragram     Facebook     Twitter     YouTube     LinkedIn