ARRL

News

W1AW Announces Spring Operating Schedule

03/12/2012

With the switch from Standard Time to Daylight Saving Time, W1AW Station Manager Joe Carcia, NJ1Q, has updated the W1AW operating schedule to reflect the change. Your local standard times have not changed, but the UTC times they reference have.

Daily Visitor Operating Hours:

1400 UTC-1600 UTC (10 AM-12 PM EDT), 1700 UTC-1945 UTC (1 PM-3:45 PM EDT)

Station closed 1600-1700 UTC (12 PM-1 PM EDT)

Morning Schedule

Time

Mode

Days

1300 UTC (9 AM EDT)

CWs

Wed, Fri

1300 UTC (9 AM EDT)

CWf

Tue, Thu

 

Afternoon/Evening Schedule

Time

Mode

Days

2000 UTC (4 PM EDT)

CWf

Mon, Wed, Fri

2000 UTC (4 PM EDT)

CWs

Tue, Thu

2100 UTC (5 PM EDT)

CWb

Daily

2200 UTC (6 PM EDT)

Digital

Daily

2300 UTC (7 PM EDT)

CWs

Mon, Wed, Fri

2300 UTC (7 PM EDT)

CWf

Tue, Thu

0000 UTC (8 PM EDT)

CWb

Daily

0100 UTC (9 PM EDT)

Digital

Daily

0145 UTC (9:45 PM EDT)

Voice

Daily

0200 UTC (10 PM EDT)

CWf

Mon, Wed, Fri

0200 UTC (10 PM EDT)

CWs

Tue, Thu

0300 UTC (11 PM EDT)

CWb

Daily

 

Frequencies

  • CW: 1.8025, 3.5815, 7.0475, 14.0475, 18.0975, 21.0675, 28.0675 and 147.555 MHz
  • Digital: 3.5975, 7.095, 14.095, 18.1025, 21.095, 28.095 and 147.555 MHz
  • Voice: 1.855, 3.990, 7.290, 14.290, 18.160, 21.390, 28.590, 147.555 MHz

Speeds

  • CWs: Morse code practice (slow) -- 5, 7.5, 10, 13 and 15 WPM
  • CWf: Morse code practice (fast) -- 35, 30, 25, 20, 15, 13 and 10 WPM
  • CWb: Morse code bulletins -- 18 WPM

CW frequencies include code practices, Qualifying Runs and CW bulletins.

Digital: BAUDOT (45.45 baud), BPSK31 and MFSK16 in a revolving schedule.

Code practice texts are from QST; the source of each practice is given at the beginning of each practice and at the beginning of alternate speeds.

On Tuesdays and Fridays at 2230 UTC (6:30 PM EDT), Keplerian elements for active amateur satellites are sent on the regular digital frequencies.

A DX bulletin replaces or is added to the regular bulletins between 0000 UTC (8 PM EDT) Thursdays and 0000 UTC (8 PM EDT) Fridays.

In a communications emergency, monitor W1AW for special bulletins as follows: Voice on the hour, Digital at 15 minutes past the hour and CW on the half hour.

All licensed amateurs may operate the station from 1400 UTC-1600 UTC (10 AM-12 PM EDT), and then from 1700 UTC-1945 UTC (1 PM-3:45 PM EDT) Monday through Friday. Be sure to bring your current FCC Amateur Radio license or a photocopy.



Back