ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Newbie with hand built 10m dipole

Feb 18th 2014, 13:46

K1BBB

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Hi, I'm a complete newbie and attempted building my own dipole last night. I have a like-new Icom 761 I bought from a friend, and by all appearances, it appears to function like new. The dipole I built, is rather crude, using solid copper wire connected to a PL239 adapter. Fed by a 50ohm 50foot PL239 coax cable. The soldering I did was terrible, and I believe I need to buy some higher quality solder and redo the work. But, in my excitement to get started, I did the best I could. It's very cold outside and we have about 3 foot of snow in the back yard. I had about a 4 foot pole I put the antenna on, and it looks a bit like an inverted V, with the wire draped down across the snow.

I attempted to tune my 761 per the manual, but at the last step, it tells me to turn two small dials under a panel till all 4 LED lights go out. Two were still on. I played around with this, trying it over and over, but achieving the same results. The manual says this could be due to high SWR, which I wouldn't be surprised at considering my construction skills. But, the step that tells me to check the SWR by setting the mode to RTTY and pressing the transmit button for a few seconds, appears to show either very low SWR, or maybe the needle is pegged all the way to the left? Which seems like the opposite of high SWR to me?