ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Antenna for 10m contest

Mar 4th 2014, 13:16

K1BBB

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I plan to participate in: http://www.nauryz-dx-contest.com/ from Indiana.

I'm really new to Amateur Radio, but feel like I had some success last weekend during the contest, making contact with 17 different countries. And I found it rather enjoyable. I found the Nauryz contest on QRZ.com and thought I'd give my hand at it. Here are my questions.

I have an Icom IC-761 (seems to have a great autotuner) and it's 100W. Currently I have a handmade 10m dipole with what I believe to be propagation from East to West. During last weekend's contest, I was getting South America, Alaska, as well as Europe and Eastern Europe (Ukraine, Bosnia, etc..) This worked well for a general coverage antenna I think. But since this Nauryz contest is located in one central area, I suppose that I'll need a more direct method to make as many contacts as possible.

What kind of simple homemade antenna, might work best for this? I should also note that I do not have a way to turn the antenna remotely, and would probably get up on the roof to adjust it by hand. I plan to do this the few weeks prior to the contest, and hope to get it in the correct direction.

I currently have easy access to some cheap supplies at a hardware store (say Lowes or Menards). Wood, PVC pipe, and wire that is available at those sorts of locations, are what I could feasibly get. Of course, I also have Radio Shack available as well. I do have an extra 50' PL-259 to use for this.