ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

HF Beam Antenna Polarization

Aug 19th 2014, 02:05

WA9WVX

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I've been an Amateur Radio Operator for 45+ years and I have never seen anyone using their HF Multi-Band 10 thru 20 m Beam Antennas in the Vertical Position as they are always Horizontally Polarized. Of course for CW / SSB horizontal does cut down on man-made noise but when you look at a Multi-Band Omni Directional Vertical Antenna it always presents a very low radiation take off angle good for working DX stations.

By my own experimenting on the 2 m band, I had a 40 element phased collinear array up at 65 feet and I could rotate the array 90 degrees from horizontal to vertical and witness a minimum of 20 dB and a maximum of 30 dB in the Tx / Rc signal strength. Years ago I had a friend who was an avid DXer who had worked a station in the Antarctic on a Thunderbird Mark V Beam on 20 m & the signal was S9 and he thought, Why don't I switch to the Hustler Vertical? So he did and the receive signal increased to 20 dB over S9 absolutely an arm chair copy and the DXer was stunned. Why are we under utilizing our HF Beam Antennas?
Aug 19th 2014, 15:12

N0NB

This is an area that could benefit for more experimentation. I think that the horizontal position is mostly a choice of practicality. An HF yagi oriented in the vertical position would need to be some distance from the parallel mast and/or tower to avoid interaction. We accept the trade-off that comes with the ease of mounting such antennas on a tower.

Last year QST published an article by Eric Nichols, KL7AJ, titled "Gimme an X, gimme an O" that offers some ideas into the reception of signals refracted from the ionosphere.