ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Yaesu FT 102

Aug 24th 2014, 23:15

brakemanbobsmith

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I am a newly licensed technician and am set to take my general test in mid September.
With a little luck and a lot of studying I hope to pass!

My question is I have a fellow I work with who's father used to be in ham radio, he has a couple of 80's era Yaesu radios for sale.

One is an FT-102 and the other is a 747GX.

The FT-102 comes with microphone, external speaker and an amplifier and the 747 comes with microphone and external speaker.

Would these radios be ok as starter radios for someone like me that will be starting out new to Ham? or should I look for more modern equipment? and if these would be ok as starter radios what kind of price would be fair for them?

It was a working shack when he switched it off and walked away. He just lost interest when his eyes started going and he couldn't build, repair or work on his equipment anymore.

He has invited me over to look over the radios and discus prices and am looking for some insight into what would be fair?

Thanks in advance Bob Smith KD8ZIF

Sep 2nd 2014, 07:17

WA9WVX

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Bob,