ARRL

Register Account

Login Help

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

Do you prefer physical books or books in electronic format?

Do you prefer physical books or books in electronic format?
Please login to vote!
Jan 5th 2015, 00:16

k9bq

Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
In the year 2015 I am astonished that the ARRL study manuals (and other publications) are only available in physical format. In this modern age more and more people have a strong preference of electronic books over the traditional physical form. What is your preference?
Jan 5th 2015, 04:15

ChrisM727

Hmm....I see I tipped the scales with my vote.
Kind of proof that since only three people voted a lot of hams are on the radio and reading books and not their computers. Just kidding....

Actually I studied for my tech exam on Ham Test Online and am still using it just to get knowledge and push for my General. I have a study guide but only used it at home at the end of the day. With the online tool I studied on lunch at work or while waiting for the laundry to finish or while boiling water...etc, etc ad infinitum, so I always had my studies with me.

I'm no spring chicken, late summer rooster would be more appropriate, and I work a lot. I supervise a food service distribution transportation department and go go go is a slow day. So...when I can find a way to sneak in some study I do. Carrying literature and music on one small device....I'm all in.

I do like old fashioned and for Pete's sake, I used to run a bookstore but if I carried all the books I read and the music I listen to....I would definitely look my age.