ARRL

Secure Site Login

Forum Home - Rules - Help - Login - Forgot Password
Members can access, post and reply to the forums below. Before you do, please first read the RULES.

DMR MOTO TRBO

Feb 13th 2016, 21:40

KD2DRS

Joined: Jan 12th 2014, 04:33
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I purchase a Tytera MD-380, fantastic radio right? Digital awesome right? Well, I live in the most densely populated state in the country, by New York city. But I live in an island, Wanaque, NJ, because there is no active repeater I can hit.

With an analog radio you could just tune around, you can't do that with these digital things, it all comes from the code plug.

Now, if that isn't a big enough problem I went into NYC during Christmas. There are like 8 or 9 DMR repeaters in New York City. I found activity of 2 guys on one channel, that was it! I realize New York isn't filled with Hams but that tells me NO ONE IS ON DMR!

Anyone else have this same experience?

Feb 21st 2016, 02:24

kb1pa

Joined: Jun 25th 2014, 22:23
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Are you sure your radio has the correct program for NYC? I would have someone check your code plug. DMR should connect all over the world if programmed correctly. DMR is growing and there are lots of good talk groups you should hear. there are 7 DMR repeaters you should hear.
good luck!
Mar 10th 2016, 02:35

KD2DRS

Joined: Jan 12th 2014, 04:33
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Thanks I had the code plug done by the dealer. I do also have worldwide presence but you have to by a repeater to be involved with that. Caught a world wide net at 1PM EST heading into NYC on Sunday--pretty neat.
Apr 2nd 2016, 09:34

N2YQT

Joined: Apr 4th 1998, 00:00
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Yeah something isn't right... The Tri-State Talkgroup is always busy. Is there anyone you know locally that can take a look at your programming?
Apr 2nd 2016, 17:18

WA0CBW

Joined: Apr 4th 1998, 00:00
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
What do you mean you "have to by a repeater to be involved with that"?
BB
Jun 8th 2016, 15:48

0001490519H80

Joined: Apr 4th 1998, 00:00
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
I did a QSO on DMR to a guy in Australia who said that he lived in the boondocks and was working me DMR thru a DV4mini. I didn't know they did DMR, but I guess if the software could handle the CODEC, why not? I have a ThumbDV that I use to work dStar because there is no local dStar repeater. all you need is wifi and a laptop.
Jul 21st 2016, 21:44

CX2AL

Joined: Apr 19th 2006, 09:35
Total Topics: 0
Total Posts: 0
Hi:

Try to find a DMR repeater connected to the BrandMeister network.
It is very easy to program Talk Groups, you might try some TGs in other english speaking countries.

A few stations are stand-by on TG2281/TS2 here in Switzerland.
73s

Hipo
HB9IBG

Back to Top